will this compressor get the job done - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 07:49 AM
Slickriffs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairfield CT
Age: 64
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
will this compressor get the job done

Husky link

Finally got some mad money and I'm looking forward to getting My 55 Chevy truck stripped and some Southern Poly on it...Will use the compressor for painting and powering tools.

I bought a Sears compressor last year and sold it a month later..bigger is better.

Thanks,

Keith

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 07:58 AM
X711
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The link is no good !

What model ?

><
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 08:19 AM
Slickriffs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairfield CT
Age: 64
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the heads up on the bad link X..
The specs are below..HD won't let me link to the pic...
I just noticed this runs on 240..so I'll need to find something
suitable that runs on 120.


Internet/Catalog # 100005910
Brand HUSKY
Model # HS7810
Air Delivery 12.6 SCFM @ 90 PSI
Assembled Depth (In Inches) 31 In.
Assembled Height (In Inches) 78
Assembled Weight (In LBS) 458
Assembled Width (In Inches) 41
Carrying System No
Engine Horsepower 7 HP
Max Air Pressure Delivery 175 PSI
Motor Induction
Power Requirement 240 volts/17.3 amps
Regulator Yes
Tank Capacity 80 Gal.
Tank Pressure Gauge Yes
Type Air Compressor
UPC CODE 045564587321
Weight(Lbs.) 458 Lbs.
Wheels/Portability No
Working Pressure Gauge Yes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 09:02 AM
Rambo_The_Dog's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Shop Remodel Progress
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 736
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickriffs
thanks for the heads up on the bad link X..
The specs are below..HD won't let me link to the pic...
I just noticed this runs on 240..so I'll need to find something
suitable that runs on 120.


Internet/Catalog # 100005910
Brand HUSKY
Model # HS7810
Air Delivery 12.6 SCFM @ 90 PSI
Assembled Depth (In Inches) 31 In.
Assembled Height (In Inches) 78
Assembled Weight (In LBS) 458
Assembled Width (In Inches) 41
Carrying System No
Engine Horsepower 7 HP
Max Air Pressure Delivery 175 PSI
Motor Induction
Power Requirement 240 volts/17.3 amps
Regulator Yes
Tank Capacity 80 Gal.
Tank Pressure Gauge Yes
Type Air Compressor
UPC CODE 045564587321
Weight(Lbs.) 458 Lbs.
Wheels/Portability No
Working Pressure Gauge Yes
You're going to be hard pressed to find a 110V compressor that will work well for painting a car.

The problem with these lighter duty compressors is they really pump the water out because they run nearly constantly when using air tools - I wouldn't even consider painting a car with one just because of the airline contamination, and especially a metallic color as the air pressure changes too much to get a consistent flow to the metallic.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 09:10 AM
Slickriffs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairfield CT
Age: 64
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Rambo-Although not good news good info to have...

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 09:25 AM
jcclark's Avatar
The Penny Pincher
 

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisville, Ky. U.S.A.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,877
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
If it advertises it's bigger than a 2HP motor and it runs on 110 volt,
They lied!!!! So watch for that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
They most likely are lying if they claim even 2 HP on 110 volts Also the specs you have listed show that Husky is lying about the 7 HP! At 17.3 AMPs @240 volts it is much closer to 4 HP instead of 7, a true 5 HP motor will be rated at least 21-23 AMPs. That Husky is however a pretty good outfit for the money and is in no way underpowered for a compressor in that price range and will serve you well it is just that we have become accustomed to seeing ridiculously inflated power numbers. If you can find a way to power a 240 outfit you will be far better off because ANY 110 volt machine is going to have serious air delivery problems no matter what the manufacturer claims.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 12:00 PM
jcclark's Avatar
The Penny Pincher
 

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisville, Ky. U.S.A.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,877
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Ditto to what Oldred said. You have to figure around 9 amps for
each horsepower. A 220v is two 110v lines carrying the same amps so
my 5 hp (220v) Eaton says 23 amps, thats 23 ea leg or 46 total.
A 110V @ 15 amps is still 15 total which is just over 1HP and that's about
all the amps a undedicated circuit can take, 20 is about the biggest.

If you must go 110 volt, you can spray without a problem.
I used one of those Sears 110V for years and it had no problem
keeping up with my Astro HVLP gun which pulls 10 cfm@40.
And there are lower cfm guns out there.
That's pretty easy for a larger 110 volt compressor to keep up with.
But if you want to use a gun like Bondokings's 16 cfm'r, or
any air sander, you'll need 220v. And to maintain the 90psi for
most air sanders, you need a 2 stage compressor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,387
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambo_The_Dog
You're going to be hard pressed to find a 110V compressor that will work well for painting a car.

The problem with these lighter duty compressors is they really pump the water out because they run nearly constantly when using air tools - I wouldn't even consider painting a car with one just because of the airline contamination, and especially a metallic color as the air pressure changes too much to get a consistent flow to the metallic.
2 110 compressors tied togther within an air supply system and running off there own 30A breakers, will work fine for painting, as long as there is a good water trap. 1 of my 110's probably produces 1 pint or so per hour in the tank, but being I have the piping for my water trap regulator running up to the celing and then down to about 32" from 12', I get no water
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:06 PM
Bee4Me's Avatar
Problem Child,Hard Case
 

Last journal entry: Strangest job I've ever done
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ARK.
Age: 57
Posts: 1,773
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Not exactly.
You DOUBLE the VOLTAGE,120-240, and your amperage is cut in HALF.
You have TWICE the POWER to run it with so, it's easier on the power.COST will be the SAME as the meter SEE's the current but your ONLY pulling 23 amps TOTAL jc. Push-Pull.
Ohms Law.
Watts divided by volts=amps
AmpsXvolts=watts
3 phase is EASIER on the system as it divides the LOAD into 3 parts
vs.
Single phase,220v. house service which only divides the load into 2 parts.
vs.
120v. which pulls EVERYTHING from 1 leg.
Your paying for the SAME electricty but you have MORE available cause you in essence have 3 legs to power from instead of 2 and 3 phase is easier on the STARTING current to fire it off.MO' Power.
Get some 220v and power that thing off and get some paint done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 06:55 PM
Slickriffs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairfield CT
Age: 64
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A lot of good read here..Thanks everybody...

Anyone had a garage 110 converted to 220?

Tx

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 07:25 PM
Rambo_The_Dog's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Shop Remodel Progress
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 736
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt167
2 110 compressors tied togther within an air supply system and running off there own 30A breakers, will work fine for painting, as long as there is a good water trap. 1 of my 110's probably produces 1 pint or so per hour in the tank, but being I have the piping for my water trap regulator running up to the celing and then down to about 32" from 12', I get no water
It's not that you can't paint a car with a 110V single phase compressor, again it's that there is a huge issue with trapping moisture and other line contaminants from these smaller compressors running so much. Matt137 sounds like he has a good filtration system in place on his setup.

Also when spraying basecoart/clearcoats these days it's tough to lay an even base out, especially a metallic, if you don't have a steady volume of air.

Still - With the time it takes to prep a car to paint and the horrendous cost of materials these days it doesn't really pay to cut corners.

If you have the extra time and money a good quality 220v compressor will never let you down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 10:52 PM
X711
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A lot of good read here..Thanks everybody...

Anyone had a garage 110 converted to 220?

Tx

Keith

Keith, putting in an additional 220 circuit for the compressor is pretty
easy if your breaker panel happens to be in the garage as mine is.
Most breaker panels have a provision for a 220V leg so all you need is a
suitable breaker for the circuit. Make sure if you do it yourself that
you exercise extreme caution ! You also would need wire capable of
carrying the amperage.

If you plan on putting the compressor in the garage and want to paint in there also thats not a good idea. You would be better off if you can put the compressor in a ventilated utility closet etc and run the piping to your garage.

You might also want to look at the 80Gallon Kobalt compressor at Lowes.
When I purchased my Kobalt which is the 60gal variety the pump had
added vanes for cooling the air before it entered the tank. I believe
the Kobalt line is made by snapon so its worth a look before you drop the
cash.

><
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:11 AM
Bee4Me's Avatar
Problem Child,Hard Case
 

Last journal entry: Strangest job I've ever done
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ARK.
Age: 57
Posts: 1,773
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you have an ele. clothes dryer in close proxmity you can "rig" a jumper cord out of a 10 guage extension cord with a male dryer plug on one end and wire the other into the comp. Otherwise,your looking at running some 10-2w/ground romex from a panel with a 30 A. double pole breaker to the comp.
Might be time to call an electrician buddy if you got one if your not "sure" about electricty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2006, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 2,073
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Around the same size compressor as I have. It should do fine for painting with most guns, but stuff like sandblasting and running things like my 8" orbital still tax it a little bit, spending a lot of time running. Lots better then 5 hp and a 3 hp I used in my younger years. Spent a lot of time waiting and pausing, letting compressor get some rest back then. I don't have 220 or any electricity for that matter in my garage. The compressor didn't come with the wiring, so I got one long enough to run to the dryer outlet in the utility room. Some day I want a nice garage, but now make due, and don't want to stick money into a place I am renting and don't own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Body - Exterior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maaco vs. At-Home Paint Job nightrain_rod Body - Exterior 127 08-26-2012 03:07 AM
Great new job! Lee Hulick Hotrodders' Lounge 2 05-20-2005 09:14 PM
New job... Say it with me now... "benefits." killerformula Hotrodders' Lounge 21 03-08-2005 07:47 AM
YAY i might get a new job. Rubberman2003 Hotrodders' Lounge 15 09-22-2003 08:48 AM
Lacking Job Ambition? TurboS10 Hotrodders' Lounge 15 09-17-2003 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.