Will Sears 1.5HP 12-gallon compressor work for HVLP gun? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2010, 01:34 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Will Sears 1.5HP 12-gallon compressor work for HVLP gun?

I've been searching and I'm not finding the answers I need.
I am trying to do some body work on my 98 Camaro. I'm new to painting and have been looking to buy a HVLP gun(s). First I have a compressor which is not great for this but I would really like to not buy a new compressor. It is a Sears Craftsman 1.5HP 12 Gallon compressor. 4.7 scfm @ 40PSI and 3.3 scfm @ 90PSI. I've read about the Harbor Freight models (but I'm not able to find the same item numbers you speak of on here) being good, but I'm not sure it will work with my compressor. I've also been looking at this CLICKY from Home Depot. This seems to be closer to my cfm requirements. Also what are these LVLP guns? I'm not looking to spend a ton of money, I'm by no means looking for professional results. Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2010, 10:07 PM

Last photo:

In a nutshell, you don't have enough compressor for any gun that's suitable for overall paint work. Also, actual air output will be a bit less than the stated amount for most compressors, which hampers you even further. To make matters even worse, most of the cheap guns on the market will require more than their stated cfm to get a decent pattern, if in fact they are able to spray a good pattern at all.