windage tray clearence 383ci - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:33 PM
roy383ci's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 138
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
windage tray clearence 383ci

hi
a windage tray on a 4 bolt 383ci need this be
a stroker clearence tray or can i use one of a 350 ci
and what what kind of studs to use(400ci longer??)

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:37 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 55
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
windage tray

Windage tray does nothing below 6500 rpm. How high you plan on winding this motor up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:15 PM
roy383ci's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 138
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi 5500rpm
i thought it is better for the balence of my crank
below 6000 rpm you have also oil splase


thanks for reply
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:07 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
I disagree that the windage tray does nothing below 6500 rpm, but we all have opinions. One thing is for sure, it can't hurt IMO.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:45 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 55
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
matter of opinion

Here is a thread with 70 postings on the pros and cons of windage trays. http://hotrodders.com/t55164-15--windage%20tray--1.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:28 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well my '97 vortec came with a windage tray factory and i'm glad. I've lost engines to air in the oil system and this will help. Not only that but they act as a girdle for the bottom end, added rigidity.

It's all about the denero. I would not put a set of aftermarket rods and crank in a block without one and an upgraded pan/oil system. Maybe there are guys who put aftermarket cranks, rods and aluminum heads on motors without them but they don't drive like i'm prone to from time to time. Half way thru an on/off ramp at 90/6500 rpm, it takes just a fraction of a second with no oil . Would a windage tray have saved not only an engine but an entire car? I'll never know but i think the answer is yes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:32 PM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 36
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SBC 400s and 350s require different windage trays. The Milodon Diamond Stripper I got was supposed to be the new and improved "universal" one. I still have to take out the Dremel tool and open up the holes more.

I think you will be alright with the 350 tray. If not, just grind it to suit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:14 AM
roy383ci's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 138
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the info
bu i still dont got a good idee if it will
fit the stroke
and how about studs 4 hole tray 6hole tray
how many studs are there for a for a windage tray(arp 4 bolt set)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.