wire harness - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2007, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: cherry hill nj
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wire harness

ok so i picked up a wire harness at the salvage yard for my S10 with luck i can get this started soon

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2007, 09:00 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
IMO you are getting off to a bad start. Why a salvage yard harness?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2007, 08:11 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,081
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 328
Thanked 99 Times in 95 Posts
I used salvage yard wire harness sections once.

I've done plenty of things once. Then learned a better way.


Are you replacing / repairing the original harness in the S-10?



Good luck
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,534
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 148 Times in 135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
IMO you are getting off to a bad start. Why a salvage yard harness?

Vince
I've had no problems with used harnesses. Here's a news flash - the harness in the car you have now is "used" also. If the wrecked car was hit in the rear and you're taking the engine harness, chances are there's nothing wrong with it. Obviously, check for corroded connectors and melted connector bodies. Other than that (and obvious tampering by previous owners), the plastic insulation and connectors probably isn't going to go bad. If nothing else, this is a very economical source of connector bodies for your own harness rebuilds. Correct terminals are available from a number sources.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2007, 06:42 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The chance of getting a salvage yard harness that has had problems is too great. Sure the reason that vehicle is in the salvage yard is not the wiring, but how do you know if the fuse panel connections have been compromised or certain wires in the bundle have not been over heated. A new aftermarket wiring harness is too cheap to be cutting corners on a salvage yard harness as far as I am concerned.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:43 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,534
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 148 Times in 135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
The chance of getting a salvage yard harness that has had problems is too great. Sure the reason that vehicle is in the salvage yard is not the wiring, but how do you know if the fuse panel connections have been compromised or certain wires in the bundle have not been over heated. A new aftermarket wiring harness is too cheap to be cutting corners on a salvage yard harness as far as I am concerned.

Vince
Hey, it's your money, spend it any way you want. Me, I've never had a problem with a used harness.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric choke voltage Mertz Engine 36 04-22-2007 11:28 AM
'68 Chevelle: need wire harness Bort Engine 3 04-10-2007 04:01 PM
aftermarket harness = confused Blob Electrical 7 10-18-2005 07:51 AM
wire harness to firewall connector pin bent 66Caprice Electrical 12 07-10-2004 07:40 AM
One wire or three wire? Screwy Lewy Electrical 0 06-30-2003 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.