Wire Size - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 06:00 AM
daveh's Avatar
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 323
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Wire Size

Hey guys,

I just purchased this Quincy 5 horse, 60 gallon compressor from Norther Tool. It's being delivered this week so I don't have any paperwork yet. There is a FAQ section in the description of the compressor and one of the answers is that it takes #10 wire along with a 30 amp fuse.

I have a lot of #8 wire with a #10 ground in the shop. Can I use that wire along with the 30 amp fuse safely?

FREE SHIPPING Quincy Compressor Reciprocating Air Compressor 5 HP, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2V41C60VC | 19 CFM Below| Northern Tool + Equipment

Thanks Dave

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 07:26 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,744
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 37
Thanked 134 Times in 134 Posts
wire'n the compressor

short answer is Nooooo problem... 30a use a 10ga wire and your going bigger.. go'n smaller is where the problem is.. skinny wire has a higher number, fat wire is a lower number... your more then ok...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:29 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 89 Times in 76 Posts
You can use a larger wire size greater than #10 AWG on a 30 amp breaker. You cannot go smaller than #10 AWG on a 30 amp breaker. Going smaller would make the wire the fuse (so to speak).

#8AWG is larger than #10AWG

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 7.5 hp Compressor. What breaker and wire size?? roger1 Electrical 18 01-01-2012 12:21 PM
Electrical question on wire size roger1 Garage - Tools 14 06-09-2008 05:53 PM
What size wire? gator412 Garage - Tools 7 03-04-2007 10:25 PM
Wire size suggestion. CdnSoldier Body - Exterior 12 06-12-2005 03:19 PM
What size of wire to use? fat48chev Body - Exterior 32 07-03-2004 08:54 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.