wire up a interior light - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:53 AM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wire up a interior light

I would like to wire a light to come on by way of a toggle switch. How would I do that???

Do I run a wire from the light to the switch. Then from that same connection run to the fuse box. And put the ground wire on the other connection from the switch???

Using the ground to turn on the light is what I'm after.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:41 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
What are you working on? GM cars use a system that switches the ground.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
USe a fuse of sime kind.

Pick the size of the fuse according to the wire size. For #16 wire, limit yourself to about 5 amps. For #10 wire, you can go to 30 amps. You can use an inline fuse, one of the pare fuses inthe fuse block, an aircraft-type ciucuit breaker, whatever you want. Just use one.

DO NOT run the wire without a fuse direct from the battery, unless you LIKE fires.

Decide if you want to be able to turn the light on and off only if the ignition is on, or if you want to be able to run the battery down by inadvertantly leaving it on......

Find a place in the fuse block that says either "always hot"; or "radio" (or something like that) that is switched by the key.

Run a wire from the fuse block to the light (typically the center lead of the fixture). Run another wire from the fixture to the switch you are installing. Connect the other side of the switch to ground.

Note:

This will only work if the light fixture (holder) is not automatically grounded simply by installing it: there HAS to be 2 wires coming fom the fixture that you can connect to.

Good luck with that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:26 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
What are you working on? GM cars use a system that switches the ground.

Vince

I'm working on my buddys 70 c10. all he wants is a light in the cab that he can turn on by way of a switch. He has the light fixture and the toggle switch. It has on wire coming out of it. So I'm assuming it self grounds.

I'ts not the factory light fixture its some after market thing. How would I wire it so that it uses a toggle switch???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:53 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If it only has one wire coming out of it I will assume that by mounting it to metal (car body) that will ground it. The wire coming out of the light will go to one side of the switch. The other side of the switch should go to a fuse that is located either in the fuse panel or other source of 12 volts.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:16 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay thank you. I wasnt sure if I need to add a gournd wire or not. Thank you.


What size fuse would you recomend??? 5amp 10amp???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2009, 04:57 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcaminodragster
Okay thank you. I wasnt sure if I need to add a gournd wire or not. Thank you.


What size fuse would you recomend??? 5amp 10amp???
If the only thing on that circuit is the interior lamp a 5 amp will be fine.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10si wire help monte ss Electrical 6 08-03-2010 06:26 PM
new welding wire oldred Body - Exterior 93 05-07-2009 04:40 PM
Fried wire from ignition to soleniod? frankenvette Electrical 4 07-31-2008 02:45 PM
Help with Digital Dash Install jvgrago Electrical 4 05-16-2008 07:16 PM
85 s-10 distributor wiring question strracer7 Electrical 1 09-29-2003 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.