Wiring 2 Relays in series?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 01:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Wiring 2 Relays in series??

Can I wire 2 relays in series to a 12volt ignition wire??

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 01:47 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
yes....to have to turn on 2 separate switches together to flow current.

yes....to have one relay turn the other on...(don't know why.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 02:36 PM
DENCOUCH's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Great Pacific Northwest
Age: 67
Posts: 409
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Relays are made double throw double pole. Why use two if you can get one that does the work of two.

Check it out

Last edited by DENCOUCH; 06-07-2008 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 03:03 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
You can hook up 2 or more relays using the same switch wired to positive or ground. Your power out of the relay just goes to what ever you want to turn on with the same switch.

This is common on dual electric fans along with a transmission cooler fan using 3 relays from the same switch.

Most of the off road race vehicles have multiple relays wired together for the lights, and multiple relays for the electric fans for the engine, trans, oil, etc., coolers.

This is my favorite link on wiring relays.
http://www.6066gmcguy.org/BoschRelay.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 03:08 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,181
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 111 Times in 96 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexypizzaman
Can I wire 2 relays in series to a 12volt ignition wire??
What exactly are you trying to accomplish. If you mean run two relays off the same switch this is very easy. I dont know why you would actually want two in series. A little more info please
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 05:30 PM
King of my Man-cave.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 2,899
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
You will probably get more answers in the electrical forum.

Moving..........

tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,376
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
if it's a GM, then there is an unfused ignition assessory spade terminal you can plug in to, you could just use that, or trigger the relays with it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 06:37 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I just realized who this was asking the question.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 07:19 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holder350
I just realized who this was asking the question.
That is Rude!!! What do you think the other members who read this are going to think of you now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm not trying to be mean but I'v been in a bad mood as of late.....all I was referring to was some of his past posts.....


Alternator not lining up, PICS!

Alternator Bracket Mounting SBC Help

and this one for sure

Pulleys Don't Line Up Sbc, Pics, Help!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:10 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holder350
I'm not trying to be mean but I'v been in a bad mood as of late.....all I was referring to was some of his past posts.....


Alternator not lining up, PICS!

Alternator Bracket Mounting SBC Help

and this one for sure

Pulleys Don't Line Up Sbc, Pics, Help!!
If you don't ask questions you don't learn, and like he posted #5 03-06-2008, 07:13 PM
sexypizzaman
Registered User Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 186
Wiki Edits: 0



re: Alternator Bracket Mounting SBC Help

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks a lot for the help guys now i can see how it goes!! And for you Holder350, if you don't want to help then don't say anything at all. Forums are for people WHO ARE LEARNING, for asking people with experience these questions and HOPEFULLY receiving some help. If you are just going to bash a thread why even post?? Why waste your time typing if all you have to say is garbage?? Don't know if anyone else agrees with me but I didn't think forums were for that.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:13 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
lol I posted that because I thought it was a joke....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Do you mean in a series or parallel? I can't see any reason to use two in a series but if you want to double the current carrying capacity, for instance use two 30 AMP to carry 50 AMPs or so, you can do that by using two parallel and in fact some electric fans have this set-up, I think Painless wiring has one like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 10:02 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks for that oldred.....I actualy needed this a few weeks ago and had to go with a expensive 100 amp unit for a alt shutdown relay....but about 4 little 30 amps would have worked just as well.....

*kicks self in but*
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 10:25 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holder350
thanks for that oldred.....I actualy needed this a few weeks ago and had to go with a expensive 100 amp unit for a alt shutdown relay....but about 4 little 30 amps would have worked just as well.....

*kicks self in but*
What kind of vehicle uses a 100 amp alt shutdown relay? This kind of relay would half to have at least 6 gauge wires in and out of it. Auto shutdown relays on the other hand, use smaller gauge wires and shut down the fuel pump, ignition, and fuel injectors. Never ever are they rated at 100 amp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to stroke a 400 more than it already is? stonedchihuahua Hotrodding Basics 18 11-10-2012 08:27 AM
wiring up a efan with relays? Boostedpimp Electrical 19 05-19-2008 03:14 PM
EZ wiring project zipfactor Electrical 3 05-21-2006 03:55 PM
Wiring An Electric Fan Using TWO Relays horvath Electrical 29 05-13-2004 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.