Wiring 2 universal wiper motors together - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Wiring 2 universal wiper motors together

I have 2 universal wiper motors that I have wired together They are wired as follows:

The negative terminal (-) goes to ground.

The positive terminal (+) goes to a fused power source.

The switched terminal (S) goes to one side of a toggle switch and to ground from the other terminal on the toggle switch.

This is not a "Mighty Wiper" brand as their wiring is not as above.
My problem is that when I start the wipers they work and if after a few seconds I shut them down they will shut down. However, if I leave them on for more than say, 20 seconds, and then shut them down, they won't. They keep on running. Sometimes (rarely) they will shut down, but more often than not they won't. I've been told that a diode is needed as there may be some feed back. There are no relays in the system and I don't want to rewire the whole system so that each wiper has it's own source. Each wiper comes from a common feed and each wiper comes from a common ground. Question.....what type and size of diode do I need and where does it go?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 01:11 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,539
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 166 Times in 140 Posts
is this a new install or an old install?

your running 2 motors with one switch, i assume that the switch grounds the motor and when you switch it off the internal park switch grounds it until the motor parks. if the motors are getting out of sync after running for a minute or 2, when you turn the switch off, each motor is grounding the other motor thru the park switch.

what i mean by getting out of sync is one motor is running a little slower than the other one. they both start out going left, right, left; but after while you might see them going opposite of each other or slightly out of whack with each other.

try running each motor separately to see if both motors park right after 2 minutes. if they both work fine then either use: a DPST (double pole, single throw) switch to separate the grounds. or if the switch matches your other interior switches, use 2 relays to disconnect the grounds.

a 1N4001/L diode would work if you had feedback thru a relay. a relay take a small load to energize. a 1N4001/L diode will not take a lot of power, such as a motor load. you could buy a big diode but it would be cheaper to try either suggestion above.

either way write back if this works...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
No this is a new installation. I thank you for the info. Being so close to Christmas I probably won't be able to do what you suggest until after the holidays. I know what you mean by being out of sync., but I'm wondering if there is any way to run them into a common sync? Reason for asking is that these are mounted on a '32 Tudor and the windshield is not that big, so there might be an overlap of the blades which could cause a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2011, 12:12 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,539
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 166 Times in 140 Posts
i drive my truck everywhere in all weather (no salt), i use rain-ex and have never turned my wipers on. i have the arms and blades mounted in case i run up on a truck spitting mud, but have never used them. we ran all day in the rain from indy to muskegon on the HRPT. never turned them on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2011, 07:38 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
I believe in Rain-X too! It's wonderful stuff and I would probably run without the wipers in place, but the challenge is to see this thing through. Had some time today and disconnected one wiper. Works and parks! Did the same for the other one. Works and parks! Ran them both together and saw that they were definately out of phase, but they did stop when shut off. BUT, one parked and the other didn't. Now if I used a diode, where would I place it and would this cause both wipers to park? Really appreciate the feedback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2011, 12:07 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,539
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 166 Times in 140 Posts
you're still better off with a DPST switch, but if you insist on using the diodes...
the 1N400x diode is only rated for 1 amp, you will need to do a little research on diodes to figure out which one to use with a motor.

this is a radio shack 3 amp diode for $1.79
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:45 PM
Joe G's Avatar
It's a dry cold.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 622
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 100
Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 27Tall T
....Now if I used a diode, where would I place it and would this cause both wipers to park? Really appreciate the feedback.
You would need to use two diodes, one on each of the 'S' wires. Like this:



However, I agree with Ogre that it would be better to use a DPST switch.



The choice is yours.

Hope this helps....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2011, 10:20 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
I can't thank you guys enough. The switch that I'm using is a universal SPST lighted one thats fits into a rectangular hole. Now the search is for a DPST that will fit into this hole (may have to widen the hole somewhat, which is okay).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2011, 04:21 PM
OLNOLAN's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,082
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 434
Thanked 120 Times in 99 Posts
Relay

Hey Tall T, If you can't find a suitable switch, you can use a relay in place of the DPST switch. You'll need an automotive 12vdc DPST relay or two SPST. Heres a DPDT from Radio Shack that would work, 10 bucks;
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...rodsPerPage=60

Food for thought. Nolan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2011, 04:42 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,539
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 166 Times in 140 Posts
yes, like joe says

nice pics joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 10:17 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Huntingtown, Md.
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dual wiper motors

Hate to pop your bubble but the arms will never syncronize in motion with 2 wiper motors.

What car are you working on ?

Check the load capacity of the switch always. One will work. Don't need double pole. Are they 2 speed ? A dedicated ground is required.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	'37 WR electrics.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	155.6 KB
ID:	61182  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 12:59 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmothershead
Hate to pop your bubble but the arms will never syncronize in motion with 2 wiper motors.

What car are you working on ?

Check the load capacity of the switch always. One will work. Don't need double pole. Are they 2 speed ? A dedicated ground is required.

I'm working on a '32 Ford Tudor and yes I realize that the arms will never synchronize. The switch(SPST) that I'm using is rated for 15 Amps. They're single speed and they both share the same ground. My only concern is to get the wipers moving so that I can safety the car to the satisfaction of the inspector. After that Rain-x will be my wiper mode.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 01:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Huntingtown, Md.
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dual wiper motors

27........Done a many '32 stock & street rods. Yes, you do have the bulkhead opening on the right side...for export right hand steering.
Why does inspector require dual wipers if it did not come with dual wipers ? Titled as a '32 ? What State ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	our '32 hi-boy.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	61196   Click image for larger version

Name:	Our '32 5w.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	502.0 KB
ID:	61197  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 07:26 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 404
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
I'm in British Columbia and because it has been modified (read street rod) it's now subject to new rules and regulations.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:07 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Gotta love a just in time thread. Thanks to all involved. No to find some nice and small motors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GM column switch / universal wiper motor. staleg Electrical 8 08-26-2012 11:37 AM
Wiring A Universal Wiper Motor 27Tall T Electrical 5 07-06-2011 12:07 AM
wiper motors for a 47 international KOOLKAR Hotrodding Basics 4 06-20-2011 09:47 PM
Anyone Tried this Universal Wiper Switch, or can you recommend one? wavetrain75 Electrical 2 10-12-2009 09:30 PM
Dual Universal wiper kit for 37 Dodge New Bird General Rodding Tech 1 11-10-2008 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.