Wiring 220 for a Welder and Compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring 220 for a Welder and Compressor

Hi folks. I searched on this and I found a few threads but they all seemed to disolve into warnings about an electrician vs. DIY and no real answers. I'm planning on an electrician, but I need to tell him what I need.

My issue is simple and I'm sure many have the issue. The 80 gallon compressor doesn't move and welder does. The welder (Lincoln 180) as a 6ft power cord and a 10ft cable. How do I make the welder mobile so I can get around the project and ideally out to the driveway?

Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 10:51 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
i have a 50 amp welder outlet on the wall
and a 50 foot extension cord i made, to plug the welder into the wall outlet.

and i dont know if its correct or not (probably not ) but my air compressor is wired into the back of the welder outlet (it should have its own circut, i'm sure)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Like Matt says, make up an extension cord for it. Or, I think your welding supply house will likely sell ext. cords big enough to handle the welder. Or a generator supply. 12 gauge cable is rated for the 20 amps the welder draws. Just get the appropriate ends for the cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 11:20 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys.

Here is where I'm at:

My house is wired for 30Amp 220 using the NEMA 10-30P 3 prong outlet. There is NO electric dryer in my house because we have a gas dryer, so I'm lucky to have a dedicated line that starts at my panel in the garage and goes into the basement. My simple strategy is to take the whole line and feed it back into my garage to remount it by the compressor. All I'd have to do is turn off the breaker for that little project. With that in mind tonight I bought a 6 foot power cord with a 10-30P dryer plug for the compressor.

BUT...... The welder is NEMA 6-50P meant for a NEMA 6-50R receptacle. I see people on other forums making up extension cords with NEMA 6-50R (female) to 10-30P (male) so they can preserve the house receptacle.

Sounds great, but I hear other people calling that a "suicide cord".

I'm lost on what to do. Will my electrician make such a cord? Is it even the right approach?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 12:05 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Could be he'll want to change the breaker and the receptacle to one suitable for the welder. Do you mean you want to run the compressor and the welder off the 1 line?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 12:18 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
The best way to do it would be to run a 240 volt circuit into the garage from the box in the house to a sub box and run a circuit in the garage for each of your units. We did this at my son's place. You can then put whatever you need in the garage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 08:11 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply and advise. To answer the question, yes I plan on sharing the single 220 outlet by unplugging the compressor while I weld. At least short term. I'll grind welds after.

Is there a reason the circuit would be unsuitable?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 09:13 AM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002
Thanks for the reply and advise. To answer the question, yes I plan on sharing the single 220 outlet by unplugging the compressor while I weld. At least short term. I'll grind welds after.

Is there a reason the circuit would be unsuitable?
your plan sounds fine to me

how many amps is the welder asking for?
my only concern is that the wire to the outlet might not be big enough for the welder

pull all the wire and outlet and put them in the garage
are you going to do this or an electrician?

i would do, like i have done,
just hard wire the compressor into the back of the dryer/welder plug, it doesn't need as big of wire
then just turn compressor off when you are welding.

how big of wire, and how many amps does your compressor say it needs?
(i just used a super heavy duty extension cord with the ends cut off)


you can make a cord for the welder with two different style plugs
(the different style plugs are mostly to keep you from plugging something that is over rated for the circuit, into the wrong outlet)
then later on you can change the plugs at the wall later if you want
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 11:36 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Its a Lincoln Mig 180 which I hear people running on 30A breakers like mine. Of course nothing else on the line drawing current.

I guess for the welder I'll get some 8ga wire and have an extension created to deal with the plug mismatch.

I would use an electrician to make the extension, but rerouting the 220 I was going to do since the breaker is off and I'm not even detaching the outlet from the wire. It is currently mounted on a piece of plywood behind the dryer, so it will come free easily. As far as wiring the compressor, the power cord I bought has 3 hoops to match the terminals on the compressor. The middle one is ground on the cord so I think I can do it. I'll plug it in and.... stand over by the panel when I hit the breaker!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 12:01 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
again, i'm just worried that the dryer circuit is not big enough to support your welder.
how many amps does the welder say it needs?

what size and how long are the wires for that dryer?


if you can put the wires on the compressor, you can make the extension cord
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The dryer wire is about 30 feet.

I found some specs in a PDF, I believe the answer is 20A...

Input Current @ Rated Output
20A

Input Power is listed as:
208/230/1/60

Rated Output Current/Voltage/Duty Cycle
130A/17V/30%
130A/20V/30%

Output Range
30-180 Amps DC
50-500 ipm WFS
(1.3-12.7 m/min)
Max. OCV: 33
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 01:31 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
I looked on the Lincoln site and the welder only draws 20 amps. The dryer would be a 30 amp circuit so you should be good to go. What does the compressor draw?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 03:26 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
i bet the compressor doesn't draw too much
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 03:31 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matts37chev
i bet the compressor doesn't draw too much
i just looked at the pics of the compressor in another thread and on the back of the motor it said 16.6 amps for 230 volt
you will be good to go
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Awesome guys thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Welder Wiring daveh Garage - Tools 17 12-08-2011 06:58 PM
i need a cheap beginner welder and air compressor. harbor freight? jagarcia05 Garage - Tools 64 07-13-2009 10:18 PM
compressor vs welder Wmarden Hotrodders' Lounge 12 11-23-2006 09:24 AM
What new compressor/welder to buy MustBnuts Garage - Tools 24 09-16-2006 09:22 AM
220 wiring for welder cboy Garage - Tools 25 02-22-2005 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.