Wiring for a 230V MIG - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 87
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring for a 230V MIG

Just purchased a Lincoln Mig 15 230V. It may be sometime before I get around to wiring up the garage. I was hoping I could run it off the dryer plug temporarily. I have heard this is possible but need to know exactly how to do it. I am confused why the dryer plug has four prongs and the welder only 3.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 10:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lymanb

I've used a dryer circuit with a mig and stick welder.It will be okay as long as the imput amps of the welder are'nt higher than the dryer circuit.You'll have to buy a new plug for the end of your welder cord.Or make up an adapter cable to fit the dryer recep and the welder.This would be good if you need to weld some distance from your dryer recep.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 10:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lymanb

I forgot something.The dryer has four prongs because it has to have 110v.The welder does'nt.The dryer requires two hot wires,a nuetral,and a ground wire.The welder needa two hot wires and a ground.Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 87
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lymanb
I forgot something.The dryer has four prongs because it has to have 110v.The welder does'nt.The dryer requires two hot wires,a nuetral,and a ground wire.The welder needa two hot wires and a ground.Hope this helps
That's what confuses me. What wire goes to what?

The two hots from the dryer obviuosly go to the two hots on the welder but what about the third welder wire? Does it go to the ground on the dryer or the neutral?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:07 PM
48ChryslerRodder's Avatar
Stuck in the past.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Beloit, Wisconsin
Age: 56
Posts: 141
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A 3 prong plug 230 volt cord has 2 hot connections and 1 neutral connection. A 4 prong plug has 2 hot connections, 1 neutral connection and 1 ground connection. What you want to connect are the 2 hot and 1 neutral connections. The ground connection is a safety to prevent electrocution if you appliance shorted internally but not to the neutral, the ground connects the appliance to a safe path for a short circuit instead of you. Your welder may be double insulated and does'nt need a ground. Check any manuals you can find on your welder. You may have to search online to find them if you did not get them with the welder. Be safe.
To get a 110 volt circut in a dryer they use 1 hot and 1 neutral conection, each hot lead is half of the 230/240 voltage.

Last edited by 48ChryslerRodder; 11-15-2006 at 01:09 PM. Reason: Additional info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:43 PM
58Chev's Avatar
Building a 10 footer.
 

Last journal entry: No more room in my garage.
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario
Age: 49
Posts: 156
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As mentioned above..

Amperage... dryer is usually 40Amps and the welder might be 50Amps. If thats the case you will be tripping the breaker often.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:15 AM
jor jor is offline
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was getting my garage ready to run a welder awhile back. I thought hard about using my dryer plug and figured I would route it into the garage, make it a dedicated welder plug and buy a gas dryer. Much of what I read on the subject, however, indicated that the amperage capacity of the dryer circuit wouldn't be sufficient for the welder. Anyhow, I ended up putting a 60 amp sub panel in the garage and would recommend that as the best solution if you can afford to do it. That way, you get your 240v dedicated circuit and you have plenty of room in your box for 120v circuits should you decide to add lights, heaters, whatever. If you can manage the job yourself, you'll be able to do it for a reasonalble price (those panels are expensive though) but if you have to get it done by an electrician (as I did) get ready to dig deep. If you go that route, I recommend you use a licensed electrician. Good luck.
jor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:38 AM
Lurker...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Age: 44
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jor
I was getting my garage ready to run a welder awhile back. I thought hard about using my dryer plug and figured I would route it into the garage, make it a dedicated welder plug and buy a gas dryer. Much of what I read on the subject, however, indicated that the amperage capacity of the dryer circuit wouldn't be sufficient for the welder. Anyhow, I ended up putting a 60 amp sub panel in the garage and would recommend that as the best solution if you can afford to do it. That way, you get your 240v dedicated circuit and you have plenty of room in your box for 120v circuits should you decide to add lights, heaters, whatever. If you can manage the job yourself, you'll be able to do it for a reasonalble price (those panels are expensive though) but if you have to get it done by an electrician (as I did) get ready to dig deep. If you go that route, I recommend you use a licensed electrician. Good luck.
jor
I did the same thing. That 60 amp box was good money spent. I had it done at the same time I had my main service bumped to 200 amps. I'm adding a 230 this weekend for my new compressor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2006, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 87
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 48ChryslerRodder

A 3 prong plug 230 volt cord has 2 hot connections and 1 neutral connection.

A 4 prong plug has 2 hot connections, 1 neutral connection and 1 ground connection. What you want to connect are the 2 hot and 1 neutral connections.

I don't think that is correct. My manual states that the plug for the welder is hot hot ground and NOT hot hot neutral.

I found this diagram on a welding forum (see attached)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	welder ext.JPG
Views:	349
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	16235  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2006, 04:49 PM
russlaferrera
 
Last wiki edit: Threading tips
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mechanicsville. Virginia
Age: 68
Posts: 205
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
230 mig wireing

Quote:
Originally Posted by asennad
I don't think that is correct. My manual states that the plug for the welder is hot hot ground and NOT hot hot neutral.

I found this diagram on a welding forum (see attached)
The red wire is connected to 110 volt (line voltage

The black is connected to 110 volt (line voltage)

The green is connected to ground. (see Note)

The white is connected to ground. (see Note)

NOTE: should you look into the electrical circuit box, you will note that the white, bare copper and green wires all are connected to the ground buss bar.
So call it what you want, ground, neutral 3rd wire , whatever. That is where it is connected......russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:21 AM
48ChryslerRodder's Avatar
Stuck in the past.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Beloit, Wisconsin
Age: 56
Posts: 141
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes the neutral and ground both connect inside the circuit breaker/fuse box. Most ground connections rely on conduit or a dedicated ground wire to ground out an outlet. If you have an older house with out conduit or a detached garage you may not have an adequate ground. Alternating current flows back and forth and a poor ground/neutral connection will cause problems. Use the neutral connection. You have 3 wires coming into your house, 2 hot and 1 neutral. The neutral is connected to ground but provides a wire flow path for the current,a much better conductor than dirt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got a Lincoln 100T MIG '32ROD Garage - Tools 6 09-04-2006 04:47 PM
EZ wiring project zipfactor Electrical 3 05-21-2006 03:55 PM
Alternator Wiring question 65Stanger Electrical 8 04-29-2006 02:28 AM
Wiring my 230v compressor...... PairOf69's Garage - Tools 7 11-18-2005 08:04 PM
Wiring with fiberglass wbmusarra Electrical 1 11-13-2003 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.