wiring in air compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:08 AM
mitmaks's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Age: 31
Posts: 1,599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
wiring in air compressor

Would I be able to wire in compressor in my drier outlet?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:36 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 70
Posts: 7,510
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 79
Thanked 173 Times in 161 Posts
It is not recommended..get a double pole breaker of the correct rating and install that in your panel and then run wire to the compressor..or out to an 220 outlet in the shop..

You can use an extension cord..(one of the heavy duty ones) and be ok with that..

I get a bit nervous about giving any more info as I have seen some real wiring nightmares develop..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm an electrician. The drier line is plenty but enough for the compressor but the problem is that you'd have a violation with installing the wrong outlet/plug for the ampacity of the circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Properly wiring a compressor is simple enough for someone with experience but if you are unsure then I would strongly suggest hiring an electrician or at least have someone with electrical background check it out for you. We may be able to tell you the right way to do this but if we, pardon the pun, "get our wires crossed" while tying to explain it here then it could cause major problems and possibly equipment damage or personal injury. This is just one of those things that IMO is too critical to attempt to coach over the net as there is simply no room for error.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2006, 08:19 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I can run a 220 line then anyone can!!!!!!

I picked up a compressor over the summer. I don't remeber what the amp rating is. Basically I went to the electric supply store and told them what I had and he gave me everything. If I remeber right it was a around $30 for a 100 feet of wire, outlet and doulbe pole breaker. I ran it from my garage to the other side house. Basically the far right coner to the far left corner. I was a little nervous about wiring it into the panel but I followed one of the double breakers in there and it was fine. I talked to an electrician at work and told him what I did and he said it sounded like a did a great job. Never had a problem since I have had it hooked up.

I was orginally thinking of running off my drying too but after talking to a couple electricians they said that it wouldn't be a good idea. BTW the only expierence I having with electrical stuff it changed the exisiting outlets and light switches in my house.

Like I said
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2006, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Age: 53
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree, learning the wiring isn't that bad. There are some tricky things about wire and breaker sizes, and load capacities though. And something I hadn't thought of until reading a good electrical advice forum, was that if you do your own wiring without an electrical permit, and your house burns, it's possible your insurance would pay nothing because of it. Here, if it's your own house, you can get the permit and still do the work yourself. And that way you have somebody check your work too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2006, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I never said it was hard to do and in fact I said it is simple enough but if someone has to ask questions then they need to have some "hands on" guidance from an expert. If you don't FULLY understand about 220 wiring, proper wire size, receptacle type, proper breaker size and at least a basic idea of the local wiring code then it is, plain and simple, a risky proposition in spite of the fact that most of the time it will work out ok. I in no way mean to imply that anyone is too dumb to do this just that if someone has to ask then that means that up until now they simply had no reason to know how and trying to wire a 20-30 AMP motor with only the guidance from someone who may or may not know what they are talking about is no place to learn. It would be all too easy to misunderstand instructions and advice given from several different opinions and once the mistake is made it is too late and the results can run from minor problems to major disaster and even fatal consequences. Electricians have to be licensed and laws require these licensed electricians for a damn good reason and to tell an inexperienced person "it is easy you can do it" is being highly irresponsible and could lead to an accident.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:25 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Definately listen to oldred I asked plenty of electricians before I did mine. They told me exactly what I needed and what to do before hand. I resourced it the best I could before I did it. I did sound like I just went out and did it. But that is definately not the case. That is something you don't want to play with.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I have serviced compressors for years and I have seen several problems due to instalation mistakes, it does happen. The most common mistakes are wire size that is too small and overloaded breakers. Most of the units I worked on were three phase which all but eliminates the DIYer but it is surprising how many calls I got when someone got their small shop compressor home and could not get it to run. I have seen several that were not grounded , Hot wires hooked to ground, 220 motors wired to 110, wiring that was routed over moving parts, bare wires touching switch housings, improperly wired switchs that would not shut off and numous other things ranging from exposed wiring to wiring being routed in areas where it was subject to damage. Improper grounding is the most common mistake and this can be deadly since the owner may not know it is wrong until it is too late, getting a 220 volt charge while standing on a damp concrete floor, or any floor for that matter, will most certainly spoil your day.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Age: 53
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can't agree more with oldred either. The scary part is some stuff will work, and therefore seem right even when it isn't. I almost did exactly what you described last summer oldred. I took the advice of someone, who was claimed to be a very knowledgable person, at a supply store on wire size. It was undersized, and I had to redo a bunch. It was only after a lot of research and many questions for our electrical inspector (who happens to be my neighbor) before I got things right. And then he inspected it to make sure.

It would have worked and been dangerous (underprotected wire) if I hadn't gotten the permit and help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:13 PM
Mustangsaly's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,071
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
asking a licensed electrician is a good idea (I know as I am one) the biggest problem is the average guy don't understand the electrical terms given to them by the electrician. and takes off 1/2 cocked with out fully understanding the electrical task at hand. the biggest problem with hooking your air compressor to a 240v dryer receptacle/outlet is the dryer circuit is not setup/sized or protected for a dryer and a air compressor together or big enough to run the dryer and air compressor at the same time. and planning on only running one at a time is bound to create a problem sooner or later. just take the time and spend the money and run a separate 240v circuit to your air compressor and eliminate any future problems as it will be done right the 1st time.and you won't have to worry about your air compressor kicking on when your dryers running or someone turning on your dryer when your air compressor's running.





Mustangsaly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mustang, EXACTLY my point!

After an incident has occured "But I thought you meant" is a bit late and that is why about the only wiring advice I will give is to consult an electrician, it is much too easy to have a misunderstanding without being there to watch what is going on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:55 AM
Mustangsaly's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,071
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oldred I understand, as I get nerves giving advice with out being able to show the person what I mean. and I don't mean that anyone is dumb, but the the way a electrician explains things and the way average person understands it is 2 different things. and a person might think they understand what a electrician explains to them until they get to the electrical task at hand then they realize they did not or don't understand. and the terms a electrician uses confuses people. catch 22 I guess...............





Mustangsaly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2007, 11:12 PM
mitmaks's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Age: 31
Posts: 1,599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustangsaly
asking a licensed electrician is a good idea (I know as I am one) the biggest problem is the average guy don't understand the electrical terms given to them by the electrician. and takes off 1/2 cocked with out fully understanding the electrical task at hand. the biggest problem with hooking your air compressor to a 240v dryer receptacle/outlet is the dryer circuit is not setup/sized or protected for a dryer and a air compressor together or big enough to run the dryer and air compressor at the same time. and planning on only running one at a time is bound to create a problem sooner or later. just take the time and spend the money and run a separate 240v circuit to your air compressor and eliminate any future problems as it will be done right the 1st time.and you won't have to worry about your air compressor kicking on when your dryers running or someone turning on your dryer when your air compressor's running.





Mustangsaly

I was thinking having one of those dryer wires hooked up to compressor and then I'd just put it in dryer outlet when I need to use compressor. Id unplug dryer of course and wouldn't ever run both at the same time on same outlet. That outlet already has breaker, so does every other appliance it's all inside garage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
I never said it was hard to do and in fact I said it is simple enough but if someone has to ask questions then they need to have some "hands on" guidance from an expert. If you don't FULLY understand about 220 wiring, proper wire size, receptacle type, proper breaker size and at least a basic idea of the local wiring code then it is, plain and simple, a risky proposition in spite of the fact that most of the time it will work out ok. I in no way mean to imply that anyone is too dumb to do this just that if someone has to ask then that means that up until now they simply had no reason to know how and trying to wire a 20-30 AMP motor with only the guidance from someone who may or may not know what they are talking about is no place to learn. It would be all too easy to misunderstand instructions and advice given from several different opinions and once the mistake is made it is too late and the results can run from minor problems to major disaster and even fatal consequences. Electricians have to be licensed and laws require these licensed electricians for a damn good reason and to tell an inexperienced person "it is easy you can do it" is being highly irresponsible and could lead to an accident.
Great advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



« Lift | Scam Alert! »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 10:36 AM
What do you think of this Air Compressor? Quarter Flash Garage - Tools 8 11-07-2006 08:00 PM
shooting clear vinvango73 Body - Exterior 3 10-29-2005 12:24 AM
Bad Air Valve black66 Electrical 8 04-12-2005 01:44 PM
Adding 2nd air tank to compressor cboy Garage - Tools 7 10-26-2004 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.