Hot Rod Forum banner

wiring compressor

9K views 78 replies 19 participants last post by  grouch 
#1 ·
I just purchased a compressor with a 15amp 240 v motor.
I have 2 separate 110v circuits close to the compressor.
Can I use the hot leg from each of these circuits to supply 220v?
Logically it sounds correct, but I am not an electrician.
Thanks,
Bob

#28 ·
more electrical

My son is and electrical contractor- and master electrician. Now I ask him what are the new rules in the 'NEC. As stated in previous posts wire size depends on the wire distance from the breaker to the load and overload calculation... An electric dryer has 110 volt control-timer and the rotation motor is 110 volts which doesn't have and much starting power requiremenrts

#29 ·
The maximum wire size is governed by one of three things. 1) If the load is a motor load like a compressor which has a high current start out of proportion to the running current, 2) the distance between the circuit breaker and the load causes voltage drop, or 3) if you have a certain plug configuration as is your case. A 10 gauge wire will not support a 50 amp circuit.

You need to install the correct sized wire and circuit breaker.

#32 ·
roger1 said:
You say you installed a 50Amp outlet.
That may be the wrong one for your dryer.

I have never seen an electric residential dryer that wasn't 30 Amps.

50 Amp will require #8 and 30 Amp requires #10.
The outlet is actually for a welder rated at 20A. What I did was run a line using 10gage from the new garage outlet to a junction box near the dryer. In the junction box I spliced in a dryer cord having the correct pin type for an existing dryer outlet. When I want to use the welder I unplug the dryer and plug in my new garage line. The dryer line is 10gage with a 30A breaker near the outlet. So in effect what I have is an extension running from the dryer outlet. I ran it this way because the main panel is full.

#33 ·
I did it too