Hot Rod Forum banner

wiring compressor

9K views 78 replies 19 participants last post by  grouch 
#1 ·
I just purchased a compressor with a 15amp 240 v motor.
I have 2 separate 110v circuits close to the compressor.
Can I use the hot leg from each of these circuits to supply 220v?
Logically it sounds correct, but I am not an electrician.
Thanks,
Bob

#52 ·
woodz428 said:
... I think stuff like wiring standards still have to be met.
The code is the code and good practice and correct installation procedure and techniques still apply to everyone, homeowner and electrician alike.

Getting back to fire insurance, when a fire occurs and the homeowner wired a circuit that causes a fire, the homeowners insurance may not cover the fire. I would say will not, but I'm sure somewhere there is an exception.

The other side of the coin is why skimp to save a few bucks when the stakes are so high? Would you skimp on the size of your brake lines or take a chance on running bald tires on the highway with your family in the car?

Why do it with a circuit in your garage?

#53 ·
bluesman2333 said:
The code is the code and good practice and correct installation procedure and techniques still apply to everyone, homeowner and electrician alike.
I agree fully. the NEC is a minimum code acceptable, and local communities can and do elevate(at least in their mind) any National code. That is the reason I suggested checking the code in whatever location you reside. I don't think you wil find any disagrement on folowing code. I have at least $500,000 of vehicles in my shop at any given time, sometimes a single car of that value( Shelbys are through the roof). I have always found it easier to avoid problems than clean up afterward. :)

#54 ·
bluesman2333 said:
No, the problem is having two different loads on one dedicated circuit.
To my understanding, he has a 30 Amp receptacle that is dedicated running #10 wire with a 2 pole 30 Amp breaker.