Wiring for drag car - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 03:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rome, Georgia
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring for drag car

I am running the wires in my El Camino drag car and have stumbled into a problem. I am running the main power wire from the battery to my main power toggle switch, but the wire is carrying to many amps for the switch and the smaller wires for the gauges and etc... I was wondering what I could put between the battery and main switch to stop this problem. It just melts the smaller wires as soon as i hook up the battery.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 03:56 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
You need a relay. What is you total load your needing to run from that one wire?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 05:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rome, Georgia
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will be running a Red Holley fuel pump, gauge lights, and the ignition system if possible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 06:14 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
The Holley fuel pump needs to be on a relay as does the ignition system. Both of those also need their own fuses. I would use automotive 30 or 40 amp rated 12 volt relays.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 08:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rome, Georgia
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks I will do that, but my switches are rated at 250 amps and I need to get the amps down directly off my battery so....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 08:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Duffield ,Va
Age: 67
Posts: 526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you are melting wires you are doing something wrong, you can't "get the amps down" . Whatever you hook to the battery will pull however many amps is necessary for that item to work.
Tell us just how you have it wired and what gauge wire used and what you are wiring up and just what item is melting the wire.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lizardking7750
Thanks I will do that, but my switches are rated at 250 amps and I need to get the amps down directly off my battery so....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 09:34 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lizardking7750
Thanks I will do that, but my switches are rated at 250 amps and I need to get the amps down directly off my battery so....

then you have a serious wiring problem. What switches do you have that are rated at 250 amps?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2009, 09:46 PM
RSM's Avatar
RSM RSM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Buckeye Az
Age: 52
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sounds like something is grounded if you burn wires as soon as you connect power...unless i'm reading it wrong.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 12:21 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,025
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 24
Thanked 98 Times in 94 Posts
I am having a hard time understanding this..Why not get one of the 12 circuit harnesses from EZwire or other vendor and wire it up per instructions..that is what most of us do..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 08:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rome, Georgia
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am running 8 gauge wiring, all the grounds are hooked up that need to be. The main wire for the main switch come directly off the battery.
Whats size relays should I use for the fuel pump and the ignition?

Last edited by lizardking7750; 12-24-2009 at 08:23 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 08:38 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 4,948
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 2
Thanked 76 Times in 64 Posts
Sounds like your switch is only turning of the heavy cable, this leaves the lighter wires to carry the load and they cant handle it, so they get hot and burn
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 11:14 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lizardking7750
Whats size relays should I use for the fuel pump and the ignition?
See post #4.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Wiring diagram 1953 Chevrolet
Last journal entry: Spare Tire Dent Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: a little S/E of Nome
Posts: 783
Wiki Edits: 647

Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Where did you put the battery? In the trunk? Did you run a negative wire back to the engine compartment? OR, are the smaller wires acting as a grounding wire and that is why they're 'heating' up.

Check this link:Guage Wire to Remotely Relocate Battery?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 07:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rome, Georgia
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
For now the battery is in the engine compartment. I have the main ground to the frame. The grounds for the lights and fuel pump are smaller black wires to the frame. Do I need to run a very large ground wire for the lights and fuel pump?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2009, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Wiring diagram 1953 Chevrolet
Last journal entry: Spare Tire Dent Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: a little S/E of Nome
Posts: 783
Wiki Edits: 647

Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I use braided ground straps to run from the frame to the body, and the body to the engine Plus I run a 8 ga, ground to my fuel pump. Positive wire to pump is 8 ga. also. Eliminates any back feed, IMHO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today for the first time I judged a car show. MARTINSR Hotrodders' Lounge 7 06-07-2008 05:45 AM
donk or lambo's got nothing on this 406chevycaprice Hotrodders' Lounge 28 01-28-2008 08:09 AM
need wiring diagram 1954 ford car btull Electrical 1 04-28-2007 08:35 PM
sock car wiring racenred#4 Electrical 1 03-02-2006 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.