Hot Rod Forum banner

Wiring my 230v compressor......

15K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  docvette 
#1 ·
First off I am no electrician! So I recently bought a 60 gallon 6.5hrs for cheap, I planned on running a small extension chord to my dryer outlet. The compressor has 2-14 gauge wires coming off of it white and a black, I was wondering if it would be alright to hook my 8 gauge wires to the 14g with wire nuts? does this make sense?

#2 · (Edited)
Welcome PairOf69's,

220V should have 3 wires coming off of it. As you need two hot and one ground to supply you with 220V.

What is the AMP rating of the compressor? usually 15 to 17 Amps

Dryer plug is what 30Amp maybe 40Amp? If you have a problem with the motor you will not trip the breaker until it's too late. :drunk:

#3 ·
If the supply wire is 8 ga you should have no problem but MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THAT THING GROUNDED!! I always recommend enlisting the help of a pro who can look at this first hand just for safety sake. I am not saying I think you can't do this but to try and get advice from afar can be dangerous since it is all to easy to misunderstand unless one is there to look it over and with electricity being as unforgiving as it is the risk is too great. If you do it yourself please have someone with experience to look it over before turning on the power. If you have 8 ga wire coming from the breaker then you probably have a heavy breaker with the potential to cause some real damage if you make a mistake. :)

#4 ·
a compressor of the size you have likely draws 15-17amps, but calls for a 30A breaker due to startup load. I wouldn't mix and match wires. There are a lot of variables here..like how far is the run of wire, is the run going to be ouside, etc. How far is your breaker panel from the compressor site? Why not just wire it direct? That way you don't have to worry about the drying, plug, etc.
- Drew

#5 ·