Wiring my 230v compressor...... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Age: 31
Posts: 59
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring my 230v compressor......

First off I am no electrician! So I recently bought a 60 gallon 6.5hrs for cheap, I planned on running a small extension chord to my dryer outlet. The compressor has 2-14 gauge wires coming off of it white and a black, I was wondering if it would be alright to hook my 8 gauge wires to the 14g with wire nuts? does this make sense?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:29 PM
58Chev's Avatar
Building a 10 footer.
 

Last journal entry: No more room in my garage.
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario
Age: 49
Posts: 156
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcome PairOf69's,

220V should have 3 wires coming off of it. As you need two hot and one ground to supply you with 220V.

What is the AMP rating of the compressor? usually 15 to 17 Amps

Dryer plug is what 30Amp maybe 40Amp? If you have a problem with the motor you will not trip the breaker until it's too late.

Last edited by 58Chev; 11-17-2005 at 08:30 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
If the supply wire is 8 ga you should have no problem but MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THAT THING GROUNDED!! I always recommend enlisting the help of a pro who can look at this first hand just for safety sake. I am not saying I think you can't do this but to try and get advice from afar can be dangerous since it is all to easy to misunderstand unless one is there to look it over and with electricity being as unforgiving as it is the risk is too great. If you do it yourself please have someone with experience to look it over before turning on the power. If you have 8 ga wire coming from the breaker then you probably have a heavy breaker with the potential to cause some real damage if you make a mistake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2005, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 44
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a compressor of the size you have likely draws 15-17amps, but calls for a 30A breaker due to startup load. I wouldn't mix and match wires. There are a lot of variables here..like how far is the run of wire, is the run going to be ouside, etc. How far is your breaker panel from the compressor site? Why not just wire it direct? That way you don't have to worry about the drying, plug, etc.
- Drew
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2005, 06:15 PM
46chevyfleetline's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: A few more
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario Canada
Age: 58
Posts: 245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IMO that is not a 230 volt compressor. If I read it right you said it had 2/14ga wires coming from it. That usually means 120vt @ 15 amps. Check out the plate on the motor and see what it says for volts and amps. If not too sure call an electrician. If you hook it up to the dryer outlet you could get some serious smokin' happenin'. With a 40 amp breaker its gonna do some damage before it blows. Good Luck and be safe. Afros are out!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2005, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 44
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah, I agree. For max 30A, #10 wire is needed. It would fry #14 under a high load situation.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2005, 07:30 PM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Most 220 volt compressor motors have three wires..a red, a black , and a green. The red and the back are both hot (110 each) and the green is the ground. If your motor just has two 14 guage wires a white and a black, I would think it was a 110 instead of a 220. In any event you need to check and make sure before you try to hook it up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2005, 08:04 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

2 wire 14 gauge IS defiantly NOT 230 VAC...

Black and white are Neutral = white Black= 110 vac, and you must add a ground.

230 VAC in the make up box will look like this BLACK=110 RED=110 (DIFFERENT LEG) WHITE=NEUTRAL=NEUTRAL BUSS, GREEN=GROUND BUSS...

Pull the make up box on the compressor / motor and look at the inside cover plate, most usually have a diagram for 230 vac and 110 vac wiring on it. I assume the compressor may be wired either way..230/110..

The Plug you need (Wall and cord) is akin to a large window a/c unit..has 3 blades at a 45 (or so) degree angle..this is a 110 / 30 /40 or 50 amp plug..A standard 2 prong / ground plug is only 20 amps max, 15 usual..

You will also have to check or upgrade the romex going to that plug for proper gauge..and of course be sure the reset breaker is up to par with the load.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo vs Supercharger - Write up!! FastChevyTruck Engine 107 02-16-2011 12:18 PM
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
air lines CARGUY Garage - Tools 96 11-16-2006 04:11 PM
air compressor maintenance CaPrI_MaN Garage - Tools 8 10-04-2006 10:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.