Wiring a vacuum pump - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 04:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring a vacuum pump

I need some info on wiring a vacuum pump for power brakes. I know there are two wires. Red for power and black for ground. What can I wire those to so it works only when key is turned on? Also how do I wire a switch to it so that it kicks off once the correct vacuum is reached?? thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 05:47 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
If low vacumn is an issue at low RPMs...... you might think of installing a "Hydro Boost" system. It works off the power steering pump...... I installed one in my 67 Camaro and I like it.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 06:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah I looked at those and don't like the price but was looking on ebay and can get a Volkswagon/Audi pump for around 50-60 bucks. I don't know what else I would have to end up buying buy The hydro is too much money for me right now. A canister wouldnt work either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 07:41 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,763
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttjsk812@aim.com View Post
I need some info on wiring a vacuum pump for power brakes. I know there are two wires. Red for power and black for ground. What can I wire those to so it works only when key is turned on? Also how do I wire a switch to it so that it kicks off once the correct vacuum is reached?? thanks
First of all, you'd want to find a switched power source that is only on when the ignition switch is in the run position.
DO NOT use the power feed for the coil, though.

I would think that you could use a vacuum switch like his one

Cole-Hersee # 9253 to cycle your pump.
Quote:
9253 Vacuum switch 6-12 in Hg

spst, insulated.
contacts open at rising vacuum, contacts close at falling vacuum.
Mounting stem: 1/8" -27 dryseal thread.
Operating range: 6-12 inches of mercury (20.3-40.6kPa).

Replaces AMC 3156149, Chrysler 1770093, CH-2569, Ford C2TA-11516-A. SPST, Insulated, Normally Off
I'd wire it with a fuse as close to the power source as possible and connect it to the red wire on the motor. I'd use this switch on the ground side and connect it to the black wire on your motor. The switch would complete the circuit (make the motor run) somewhere in the 6-12 in/hg range.

I was just thinking that you could also wire in a circuit for an indicator light so that you knew when / how often it runs.

Last edited by 66GMC; 07-22-2012 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 08:49 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
Using the switch above, I'd wire it with a relay....... that way the relay takes the load of the pump vs the vacumn switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vacumn switch.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	66923  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 05:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
You may want to take a look at the info in this article, and follow the links to see what else you can find. Its an article about putting a vacuum pump in a GMC motor home to get better brakes (not your exact application), but does have info about GM cars where you might get a complete assembly that includes the vacuum pump and switch.
GMC Motor Home Pages

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 12:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you guys for the help. I am gonna have to figure out how to wire this in. I dont know much about wiring but was told not to wire into the coil.. Does anybody know what to do for the wiring. 2 wires
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 12:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This Pump would work. Dont know if it has a built switch...says 1..2..3.. on the plug in on the inside.....Factory OEM Hydraulic Power Brake Booster Vacuum Power Brake Pump 20998928 | eBay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 05:07 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
for two wires....I'd follow the advice in post #5
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 05:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I believe I will use a relay like shown but use a toggle switch and just turn it on when I need it.. Do you have to splice the wires for the switch/power?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 08:10 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
Just wire the toggle between the vac switch and the ground
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am gonna run just the toggle switch with no vacuum swotch and flip it on when I need it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2012, 11:14 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,763
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttjsk812@aim.com View Post
I am gonna run just the toggle switch with no vacuum swotch and flip it on when I need it
Seriously?

We're talking about power brakes here.
Yes, the booster has a check valve that (if working properly) will give you a couple of assisted applies, and yes, you can still aply those brakes manually with both feet on the pedal.

That Cole-Hersee vacuum switch #9253

retails for about $18.00 CDN

This bosch relay with mounting bracket

BOS 0-332-019-150 is $7.89

The connector pigtail (optional)

Grote 84-1041 is $13.83

ATO fuse-holder with bracket and protective cap (optional)

Grote 82-2166 is $3.15

Amber Indicator light (optional)

Echlin SW160 $9.09

(All prices are Canadian retail ... much less I am sure in the USA)

Besides all of the above ... forgetting to turn that toggle switch off and running the vacuum pump motor continuously is NOT going to be good for it, or your pocketbook.

I urge you to reconsider and just do it the right way ... for the sake of what ... $50.00?
But hey ... it's your ride.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2012, 07:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gotcha yeahh I plan on running it the right way but do I put a fuse on the switch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2012, 01:39 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,763
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 91 Times in 86 Posts
I would install a fuse (or choose an already fused) on the "hot" side ... as close as possible to the power source. You'll want to choose a fuse amperage a bit higher than what the electric pump motor requires, as most electric motors draw more at start-up than they do running.

Check EOD Guys diagram in post #5
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC Vacuum Pump? Coodeville Garage - Tools 0 08-17-2010 05:54 PM
Vacuum pump deno Hotrodding Basics 3 11-26-2008 05:48 PM
Vacuum Pump MI2600 Garage - Tools 17 08-06-2008 01:50 PM
Lt 1 Vacuum Pump big block camaro Engine 0 02-27-2007 12:15 AM
Bad Fuel Pump...Pump or wiring? Huckster Electrical 10 04-26-2005 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.