wolo ooga horn major problem!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:02 PM
live for the trails
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pennslyvania
Age: 24
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolo ooga horn major problem!!!

i just recently bought the Wolo Ooga Horns... i installed them the way that it said to in they're instructions. when i connected the battery it just honked... i have it wired to a push button in my cab of my 2003 ford ranger... i disconnected that and actually did a complete circut with two hots running to the switch and i grounded it right onto the negitive terminal... IT WORKED! but after the truck ran for a min the wires got flaming red hot, and nearly started a fire... im getting ready to just junk this stuff... unless i can get some help... please help me with diagrams or anythingthing else you can think of that would help me understand this more... oh ya forgot to mention... i did use an inline fuse on the hot wire... thanks alot...

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:27 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Possibly the wire size you used is too small. Did the instruction advise on what wire size to use?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:56 AM
live for the trails
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pennslyvania
Age: 24
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IT said use 16 or higher(thicker) so i used 16... should i step it up to like a 14, 12, or 10?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:21 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
16 sounds way too small, use minimum #12 AWG for best results, and fuse appropriately with a 20 amp fuse. Better still use #10 AWG and a 30 amp fuse. That horn should sound much better when it is getting all the juice it needs .

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 11:04 PM
live for the trails
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pennslyvania
Age: 24
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
should i use a relay? or just by pass it...?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2009, 01:52 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 1,108
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just wire it straight to the battery. Battery + to fuse to horn and then back to the battery for the ground. My old 72 was wired that way except it didnt even have a fuse in it. Im not the one that wired it up that way and i never thought enough about it to put a fuse in line. Im not sure i ever used the horn on it tho anyways. It also had a button switch on it for the horn button, as the stock steering wheel was replaced with some piece of crap TINY BG wheel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if you wire in relay in properly your switch will last a lot longer, because then the switch is only passing about 2 amps through it and the relay is switching the higher load.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 09:26 PM
live for the trails
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pennslyvania
Age: 24
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i used a thicker wire this time and it worked perfect but after about 10-15 mins after my truck was running it quit working?!?!?!? what do i do now...?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will guess you burnt out the switch, check for power and ground at different places to test it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:21 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blyne3
if you wire in relay in properly your switch will last a lot longer, because then the switch is only passing about 2 amps through it and the relay is switching the higher load.
A typical relay coil only takes about 500ma to energize, far less than 2 amps.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:22 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger1313
i used a thicker wire this time and it worked perfect but after about 10-15 mins after my truck was running it quit working?!?!?!? what do i do now...?
Did you wire it up with a relay or direct from a switch?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,389
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
ahoogah horns take a lot of amps.. read the package and you will realise they can draw 20+ amps.. and relays are reccomended to correct this. I recently wired an original 6v Ahoogah horn into my '51 Chevy, but I disconnected the original horns and used the relay.. after adjusting the 50 yo horn, it sounded just like it should
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace existing horn w/ ooga horn? BobbyG-39 Electrical 14 11-03-2007 01:58 PM
broken ooga horn? sierragrande Electrical 2 04-17-2007 04:27 PM
broken ooga horn? sierragrande Electrical 0 04-17-2007 09:54 AM
Ooga Horn Pats Introduce Yourself 2 04-09-2007 07:30 PM
Broken ooga horn. HEEEEEEEELP!!!!! Pats Off-Topic 0 04-09-2007 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.