Wood eye? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2003, 07:01 AM
Returning American Maddman

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Post Wood eye?

What I am looking for is information on wood being used on a vehicle. I am build ing a C-Cab and will have some wood. The frame is already made from 1 in box tubing and wrapped in 18 guage steel for panels. The floor top C-Cab bows and some trim will be wood. I am looking for ideas, sites to reference, others experience. You always see red oak, but what else can be used to keep the cost down. Marine plywood, poplar, cyprus, redwood. I am new to the wood thing and welcome all ideas!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-19-2003, 07:06 AM
a.k.a. Rusty Shackelford

Last journal entry: Another one
Last photo:

I don’t know about where you are at but ‘round here pine is about the cheapest wood you can find. Besides being so cheap the nice thing about pine is it is a light color so you can stain it any shade you want.

Cory
Old 05-19-2003, 08:11 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21

I'm not really clear on where the wood will be in your car. Sounds like you have already replaced most of the structural wood with steel. If the wood is exposed to the elements, you must use decay resistant species.

For flat floorboards, marine grade plywood is fine. I cover mine with wood grain Formica on the bottom so it will never be exposed to rot. There is an unlimited variety of Formica out there so you can cover it with any look you want.