Is it worth Dyno tuning? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2010, 05:06 PM
Show me the money !

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Is it worth Dyno tuning?

I have been driving my new built 402 sbc for about 3 months now and I really want to get the most out of it. The local dyno -tune shop wants 425.00 for a full tune. It seems to me I can get most of whats left in her myself with a little time and short money. I have never done anything to a carb other than rebuild it with stock parts. I have a .020 over 400ci with a CC 270HR , RHS (220) heads, 9.7 -9.9 CR. ,Weiand stealth manifold and one of those Summit 750 carbs on it. I know there is more power in there, I just need to extract it. It does hesitate when I stomp it, but if I roll into it , it really pulls hard. I have been told to get the vac pressure and change the cam or pump shooter . It looks like the summit carb uses holley parts .The kits I found @ summit are http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-M08040/

and http://www.summitracing.com/parts/HLY-20-12/

So, I'm into this for about 80 bucks. I feel comfortable in doing the work but how will I know if I am leaving anything (HP) in there? Do these Dyno shops really give you 425 .00 worth ? I have never had a Dyno and work hard for my money. Help Me Hot rod Nation!! what would you do ?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2010, 06:00 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast 4 Door