woud this be a good setup? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2004, 11:03 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

woud this be a good setup?

im new to hotrods and am going to be building an engine for my car this summer
im going to get an early third generation camaro and put a fourth generation 6 speed transmission in it, but for the engine this is what i am thinking about
the problem is i dont know if its a good setup or not. my friend who knows alot more than me about cars helped me out by looking through a jegs catalouge and helping me out or whatever
i will buy as much stuff from ebay or used as i can as long as its good and will work good cause i dont have much money. aobut 4000 or so for the engine
looking for a fairly high reving street/strip engine that wont kill fuel economy but doesnt need to be perfect cause i've got a 'beater'

383 stroker kit from jegs
gear drive kit
edelbrock performer rpm 64 cc heads
crane energizer cam with 282*/.470" my friend said that will have a nice sound to it and wont be too bad on the street
crane enrgizer aluminum rockers
jegs aluminum radietor
stealthram or superram whatever i can get from ebay
what other stuff do i need to have a strong running motor that will rev fairly high and will last a while?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2004, 11:37 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3

sounds good, stay with a conservative manifold, however, you're done at around 5500-6000 with those cubes and that cam.

K
Old 05-21-2004, 11:52 AM

Last photo: