would this be feasible with lead body filler? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2011, 08:26 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

would this be feasible with lead body filler?

I replaced the driver's side sail panel/B pillar on my 67 Mustang coupe. The panel butts right into the drip rail and this is where the seam will be. It is difficult to get a full continuous weld in there but I have a number of tack welds where I could get them in.

I need to figure out how I can seal this up as best as possible. Obviously this now provides a way for water to run behind the sail panel and wreak havoc (though the car will be a fair weather car only).

I've never worked with lead before and never intended to as I've heard it takes extreme talent to do well. I am wondering if running some lead down this drip rail channel however, would adequately close up the seam where the panel meets the drip rail. I'd then put copious amounts of drip rail seam sealer in over it. Another alternative would be a skim coat fiberglass filler in place of the lead (or lead substitute), I just would be worried about it cracking over time potentially.

All thoughts and suggestions are welcome...

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2011, 03:21 AM

i would just advise trying to weld it, i though lead work was illegal due to the toxic process it involves
Old 05-15-2011, 04:07 AM
put up or shut up

Last journal entry: saying goodbye to the beast
Last photo: