Yet another 383 build up, questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2010, 05:16 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Yet another 383 build up, questions

I have done some research and think I have the set up that should work, but because I am new at this, I want to get some feedback.

I am building a 79 camaro and this is the setup I came up with, bear in mind, I am in the planning phase so every can be subject to change, so alot of help, comments and suggestions are really appreciated.

I am planning on the following for the camaro:

TH350 Auto with 2500 stall
posi rear end with 3.73 gears
Rear wheels will be 17x9.5 with 285/40 tires

As far as the engine, I was thinking building up a 383 stroker with the following:

Eagle Internal balanced rotating kit (5.7" Rods with Hyper pistons)
Comp Cams XR282HR-10, (Comp said I will need a custom grind on a 1.050" base circle to clear rods, which they will do for no extra charge through them. Cam specs: Advertised Duration 282/288, Lift .510/.520, Duration at .050 inch Lift 230 int./236 exh. )
Going with Hydraulic rollers and 1.5 roller rockers.
Dart Pro 1 Aluminum Heads, (200cc intake runners, 64cc comustion chamber)
RPM dual pane intake
750 CFM Carb, unknown make yet, Holley or Edelbrock??