Your suggestions on this body work - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2006, 09:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Your suggestions on this body work

Hey folk, Newbie here . (like you cant tell ) I've tackled a resto/upgrade job that is above my knowlege. Thank you GREATELY for your knowledge base and tips etc. I have been reading up before I do this post.

First I want to appoligize this is a paste job from another bulletin board in which I help moderate. Not much body work folk on there soo... TADA here I am to pick your brains and share anything I can in return.

----------------
Ok, Here it is. I am restoring/upgrading a Mercedes Unimog 404.1. I'm now doing body work that is welll... body work. Don't matter that it's a Unimog so I'm posting here for everyones benefit (particularly mine) I'll include some links on the history of this project to get you folk upto date.

A giant rotisserie was built to make the project easier to work on. Doors removed, Passenger Fender Removed (ruined in the process, but that is OK). So now Im planning ahead for dealing with RUSTTTTTTTT. and paint removal.

RUST Plan- remove it physically, use OSPHO to treat it
Removal of Paint Plan- using Elephant Snot (Aircraft Stripper) to remove it. Use spray can Etching primer as a coat to prevent rust on parts as I remove paint. Will move up to a spray gun once I get water filters onto the air compressor line.

Questions: