ZZ4 Cam into a 350 vortec - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2008, 09:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: sulphur springs, in
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ZZ4 Cam into a 350 vortec

I have a 1999 vortec 350. I'm wanting to swap a ZZ4 cam, with roller lifters, new springs and 1.5 roller rockers. Will this work? Any info would be appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2008, 09:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
While the cam itself will fit, and you probably already have roller lifters in your current engine (you can reuse them), the lift on that cam will exceed what the stock vortec heads can handle without something hitting, there were a couple posts about getting more lift without machining the heads, using some different seals and/or locks and retainers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2008, 10:06 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
With the correct springs, retainers, seals & locks many adds say you're able to clear .550" lift without machining. Here's a good article on the Vortecs>
http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56505
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2008, 09:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: sulphur springs, in
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies to that question. My engine is in a 1999 Suburban. I'm planning on swapping out the cam with a ZZ4 cam. I also have another set of vortec heads with different springs and the 1.5 self aligning roller rockers. I'm wanting to get some more power out of my suburban while still able to get decent gas mileage. Would this be the way to go or is there a different swap that I could do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Any chance the new cam would confuse the computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:24 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Good point Jim. I'd call a few cam companies and ask about the max lift, duration & lobe seperation you can use with the stock computer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARE 305 and 350 VORTEC HEADS SAME badriand Engine 39 04-06-2011 08:40 AM
AFR or Vortec heads? Cam? rodent Engine 18 06-08-2010 03:50 PM
Need Help FAST!!!!!!!!!! millertime85 Engine 14 06-25-2008 07:01 PM
96 chevy 305 vortec heads on 350 block badriand Engine 6 02-20-2006 07:45 AM
Stock 350 with bigger cam runs ****ty! help MotormanEN Hotrodding Basics 4 11-02-2004 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.