110v Welding 100 feet away - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 08:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
110v Welding 100 feet away

Hi I'm trying to find out if I need to put in a dedicated circuit to run a 100' 10 gauge extension cord. I actually have 220 available and I'm wondering if I can simply run off of that with an adapter and not worry about voltage drops? Or should I put in a 110 with a 35A breaker? Thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 09:13 AM
Cars, Trucks, Boats
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toledo, N.W.Ohio, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 6,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 772 Times in 726 Posts
Need more info... is this for wiring up an outbuilding?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 10:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzLOL View Post
Need more info... is this for wiring up an outbuilding?
Hi thanks. My project 57 BelAir is in a shed roughly 60 feet away from my garage which has the power. I've thought about powering the shed directly but I don't know how long I'll be living there. The electrical panel is in the garage along with the 220 outlet that sits completely idle. I already have amp draw problems on the 110 outlets in the garage so I've got to pick a direction for the Welder.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 11:08 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 75
Posts: 9,581
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 300
Thanked 720 Times in 614 Posts
30 amp circuit for #10 wire. I have had to do that on occasion and it works OK but you will have to look at the welder settings..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 12:47 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 530 Times in 418 Posts
what welder? if it can run on a 120V 20A plug. probably
with voltage drop you need bigger wire to make up for the length of run, not a bigger breaker
10 gauge wire should have a 30A breaker max, but i'd try it on a 20A breaker first to be legit

my barn 200 ft away from the house has a 30 amp 240 volt panel wired with 10 ga wire underground from the main house panel
i can use a 20A lincoln weldpac100 with the lights on, if the 240v 15A compressor kicks on, i back off welding
same with table saw: if the compressor is running, no sense turning on the saw
i build a lot of projects out there: automotive, welding, woodworking, etc...
pic of barn taken from back porch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 02:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Probably a Hobart 140. I'll take a look at burying a line to the shed but I have to cut my driveway to do it. So that's why I'm hell bent on an 10 gauge extension cord.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 03:06 PM
Cars, Trucks, Boats
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toledo, N.W.Ohio, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 6,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 772 Times in 726 Posts
What amperage breaker is the 220 V outlet connected to?

Were you going to run 2, 3, or 4 #10 wires out to the shed? (hot, hot, neutral, safety ground)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 07:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not sure on the 220 I stole it from the clothes dryer setup (which is gas) and reran it to the garage. Wife never noticed. Being naive I was going to use a 10 gauge extension cord. Bad idea?

https://www.homedepot.com/p/100-ft-1...RL6A/205377761
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 07:32 PM
Cars, Trucks, Boats
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toledo, N.W.Ohio, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 6,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 772 Times in 726 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002 View Post
Not sure on the 220 I stole it from the clothes dryer setup (which is gas) and reran it to the garage. Wife never noticed. Being naive I was going to use a 10 gauge extension cord. Bad idea?

https://www.homedepot.com/p/100-ft-1...RL6A/205377761
A 15 amp plug on 30 amp extension cord wires?

I'd prolly get some #12 house wiring and wire it to one outside terminal and the middle terminal of a dryer plug... put a 20 amp duplex outlet box on the other end... for a temporary set up... string it over the driveway so it isn't getting driven on...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2018, 07:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,246
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 232
Thanked 486 Times in 392 Posts
I have a millermatic 212 that I use for 100 feet 110 welds from time to time. I generally use it to tack up exhaust or for thin material up to an 1/8 inch. I try not to weld on 110 if possible as 40 feet closer lets me use the option below with a 5 minute plug change.


I have a 10 foot "adapter" cord that uses a drier/stove plug (google how to do this correctly) off the wall (for inside the garage welding) and connect that to 50 foot welding extension cord (for outside welding when the garage is full) that is 220 amp and works just fine for 1/8-3/8 stuff.

The commercial grade (heavy) extension cord was not cheap. I think it was around $200 with lighted ends which is a great feature. I have used it on over 20 projects since 2014 from small fixes to full on cages with thicknesses up to 3/8".


Your going to spend over $150 for a good one. But you can roll it up and put it in the shed when done. So you would not need to bury anything. Takes only a few minutes to run it and put it away. Having that drier/stove plug allows me to run the thing off the house or off the garage which increases the range of things I can reach without moving them.

There are a few precautions you need to take when using a drier/stove plug. But as long as these are done it may lessen your required length.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to cerial For This Useful Post:
Gearhead Poppa (03-22-2018)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2018, 06:48 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 2,387
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 233 Times in 224 Posts
wiring shed

if u have 220 in garage use that to a panel in shed and that will split to two 110's. the big question for me is how deep are u going to bury the wire???? regular house wire ain't gonna cut it. u need underground wire. if u stay shallow u really need to put in pvc tubing to protect it or go 3 ft deep. going under driveway it depends on how far that is.. u can use a long length of pvc attached to water hose. dig down a foot or so turn on water and start pushing it under to the hole u dug on other side.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2018, 12:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll take a look at powering the shed but I'd still like to consider an extension cord to keep the costs down. How critical is the 15A issue with the ends on a 10A wire? Most have those ends. This is for ~19 gauge welding on my 57.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2018, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I decided to call Hobart to get their take and maybe this will help somebody. He told me that the distance run starts at the breaker. I can get 25 feet closer to the shed and avoid cutting the driveway pavement by running 6 gauge off a 50A breaker on the main panel to a remote panel on the other side of the garage. Off the remote panel I would have a few 20A dedicated outlets. From there I can use a 50' 10 gauge extension cord with 15A ends safely. The Hobart 140 won't draw even 15A continuous doing tack welds on 19 gauge steel.

A slight variation to this plan would be to go underground from the remote panel and wire the shed properly. That is far more feasible from a remote panel because its under grass not the paved driveway.

Meant to add: he said a 75-100' pure extension cord run would really need 8 gauge to avoid voltage drops but for my use case it was a pretty marginal requirement vs. 10 gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2018, 02:40 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 530 Times in 418 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002 View Post
I'll take a look at powering the shed but I'd still like to consider an extension cord to keep the costs down. How critical is the 15A issue with the ends on a 10A wire? Most have those ends. This is for ~19 gauge welding on my 57.
technically a 120 volt, 15 amp plug is (II) and a 20 amp plug is (I-), the wire size is more important
your hobart 140 is rated at 115 volts, 20 amps; but i guarantee it has a 15 amp (II) plug on it, my lincoln does
i wouldn't be concerned about using that 10/3 cord on 20 amps, i'd still put a 20 amp breaker on the range/dryer plug

Last edited by ogre; 03-23-2018 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to ogre For This Useful Post:
mjgord51 (03-28-2018)
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2018, 02:45 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 530 Times in 418 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by delawarebill View Post
if u have 220 in garage use that to a panel in shed and that will split to two 110's. the big question for me is how deep are u going to bury the wire????
code requires 24 inches deep, there are exception for being in rigid conduit or under concrete
garage panel run from house panel is considered a sub panel, it needs 4 wires: 2 hots, neutral and ground
that said get a ditcher that goes 3 feet or more, water line at the bottom, power line above it
every garage needs water
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
110v ac to 130v dc crussell85 Electrical 9 05-29-2015 02:04 PM
110v mig settings grandpa01 Garage - Tools 15 05-29-2011 10:58 AM
Cam and Carb Selection... 100 People = 100 answers sjkonyndyk Engine 5 01-15-2011 08:33 AM
Best 110V welder Dale Sizemore Garage - Tools 22 01-18-2006 12:10 PM
220V welder or 110V Ripped Body - Exterior 8 10-04-2005 08:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.