1967 El Camino rear window repair - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2016, 06:19 PM

Last journal entry: Dual 13 inch fan install
Wiki Edits: 0

1967 El Camino rear window repair

Let me start off by saying that this is my first time doing some body work. I am getting close to the point of cutting into the ol' camino now. I'm just now sure how to best start this process.

That black sharpie line going across the bed is the edge of the patch panel. There are two ways I can go about this (that I know of). Let it be known that this will be my first time doing any kind of body work.

1) Just do the whole patch panel down to that line. I'm just a little worried about the weld seam going across the bed right there.

2) Just patch that area where the window sits and in turn just spot fill the rest of the small holes.

Any other hints or tricks I should know about before taking a cutting wheel to it?

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160424_125454 (Large).jpg
Views:	263
Size:	365.3 KB
ID:	296425   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160424_125512 (Large).jpg
Views:	243
Size:	446.2 KB
ID:	296433  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-24-2016, 09:41 PM
Grand Prix User

Last journal entry: Last look

Thanked 5,228 Times in 3,081 Posts
Since using the whole patch panel places the seam down inside the bed box, I think thats your best bet. You could overlap that seam to make the job simpler so plan first and cut accordingly. If a big long butt welded seam is too intimidating, bonding the lower seam is an option but the adhesive is costly.
Old 04-25-2016, 01:32 AM