$2000 paint failure - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2017, 05:55 PM

Last journal entry: Start over
Wiki Edits: 0

$2000 paint failure

After a year of body work I finally painted my truck. I used PPG DCC single stage urethane. I chose a metallic and the results were horrible. I had tiger stripes & swirls. The paint itself is dynamite as far as durability. It's about 1 step below powder coat. That cost $700/gal. A body shop told me that unless I've been painting everyday for 10 years that no one can do single stage metallics. He suggested a BC/CC. I bought that and went to work. Base coat went well (so I thought) and I did the recommended 2 coats of clear. Went to sand it and immediately broke through. I also noticed that I had some bleed through where the base coat didn't cover. Sanded that & re-shot. It might as well have been a different color. Bought another gallon of clear and applied 4 coats total. ($700). Now I've got splotches and I still sand through. I know it doesn't add up to 2 grand but with primers & all I'm being conservative.
No shop will touch this thing so I'll have to finish it myself. I've decided to forgo the metallics and go with a pearl. Another body shop suggested I go with Rival which is an industrial line. Eastwood has a single stage blue pearl that's appealing for $115/gal. Any one have an opinion on this and can I shoot it over the old CC or do I need to another sealer?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-07-2017, 06:26 PM
SPI Thug

Last journal entry: some progress

you will get the same results with pearl .
The Following User Says Thank You to shine For This Useful Post: