305/T-350 drops RPM when in gear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 01:58 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

305/T-350 drops RPM when in gear

Hi!

I'm a novice to this so please bear with me..

Short question:
What would cause a carbed mild/stock Chevy 305 coupled to a TH350 trans (manual valve body, might have other mods such as a mild shift kit) to drop RPMs excessively and jerk when put in gear? This is independent of engine/trans being cold or at operating temp.

Long version if needed:

I have a '79 Pontiac Grand Prix with a carbed Chevy 305 engine and a TH350 trans. The carb is a 4 barrel Edelbrock (4487 I think it said), about 600 cfm according to previous owner. Also has HEI distributor. The trans has a manual valve body.

There are a few problems that appear to be related:
  1. Car doesn't start very willingly when cold, often takes a few tries. Will then appear to start, but die immediately (fail to keep RPMs up). After doing this a few times it will start and run relatively okay in park/neutral. Starts immediately when warm.
  2. When put in gear (reverse or any forward gear) RPMs drop massively (independent of engine hot or cold). I unfortunately don't have a tachometer so I don't know how much, but it's in the 500-1000 RPM range. The car will also jerk when this happens (backwards in reverse and forwards when in a forwards gear).