Another Newbie Painter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2008, 10:13 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Another Newbie Painter

I am repainting a car with Acrylic Metallic Enamel. After apply several coats, I let the paint dry overnight, smoothed it with steel wool & applied a final coat. After a few minutes, the new paint began to wrinkle severely, looking like a dry lake bed. What in the world has happened here ? I have little painting experience & known with metallic acrylic. Do I need more dry time or is additional sanding & spaying not allowed ???

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-17-2008, 11:44 AM
Colorsanding painter

I think you might have applied the paint too wet when you scuffed and shot it again. My other guess is the first coats of paint might need to dry longer before applying more paint.
Old 10-17-2008, 02:22 PM

Thanks

At the moment, the only option I see is to let the paint dry for a few more days & try it again. I have my doubts, as I repainted a small piece of trim after two days of drying time & the same thing occurred. Another possibility I thought might be the cause is that, after scuffing, I wiped the area clean with a cloth dampened with the acrylic enamel reducer I use to thin the paint. Could that have softened the paint enough to cause this ? The thinner evaporated immediately, so I didn't give it another thought.

Thanks for your input.

Old 10-17-2008, 02:36 PM
Colorsanding painter

I'd say to let it dry for a few weeks, preferably in the sun before attempting to recoat it.
Old 10-17-2008, 02:51 PM

Hmmmmmm