anybody here using silicon bronze? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2013, 11:00 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

anybody here using silicon bronze?

I'm using it in a MIG welder. I'm still new at it but I think it could be great.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-09-2013, 05:38 PM

I use it on cracked and damaged blocks/heads..

Just did a pair of BBC boat heads that had been frozen. Cracked all the way across the top in the valve spring area. These were ported and done by a big name $$$$$$$ shop in the past and customer wanted to try saving them..

Heated in my bake oven, powder flux and
mig with silicon bronze.. Flows out great and repaired all exposed cracks. Pressure checked and one passed. The other required a bit more work and a little sealer.. They are out on the water now. We'll see if there are any problems in the long run.. I have a set of my own heads done same way that are now six years old..
Old 10-10-2013, 02:03 PM

I am using it for bodywork. Keeps the heat down and doesn't warp panels, plus, it flows more nicely and doesn't leave pinholes for the moisture to get into the bondo. Last year at SEMA, the guys at the Pro Spot booth told me it was the "secret weapon in body repair".

Old 10-10-2013, 02:43 PM
Faith - Respect - Trust