Big Block Chevy builds do and donts? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2009, 12:56 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Big Block Chevy builds do and donts?

Hey their fellas,

Newbie here! Got a '73 2 bolt 454 that Im boring 0.060" for my '71 Monte that will be 99% street/highway driven. Im on a real tight budget here and, asked the shop if it was absolutly neccessary to balance the assembly they told me its not on a 454. Any real engine builders have any feedback on the accurracy of this? (Hate to kick myself later)

Just so you know Im doing a 468 with cast/flat pistons, stock rods and cast crank. 049-113cc heads/268H comp cam/700r4/3.08 gears

One more things since I got you here... will getting bigger valves be worth the money in my case and, is hardend seats a must? My instructor told me not really since they do add other things such as magnesium to help lubricate. I would be willing to add lead substitute on road trips and drag races.
Cost of rebuilding to stock $150 for +0.001 valves (I'll do them myself at school vs. cost of rebuilding with bigger valves, and seats $700

Any other advise is much appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-13-2009, 08:14 AM

For this mild application. I wouldn't be concerned with larger valves. A balance job probably will not be a must. If most of your internal parts are stock. Your 049 heads will have factory induction hardened seats. Do a good three angle valve job and clean up the bowls. Smooth the short side radius.
Old 12-13-2009, 10:17 PM

BBC does and donts...

Thanks guys,