Black paint - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior> Paint
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2018, 10:49 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Black paint

I want to paint my 52 Plymouth a flat black. It's not going to be a restored car, just one to be a little different. Is this just flat black from a automotive paint store, or some special mix? I see this paint on some newer car fender trim. Any thoughts? Stan

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-16-2018, 11:48 PM

I am not a professional painter but I can parot what was told to me last year when I looked into it.

Flat black is a hard/expensive paint to make, so if you are looking for a decent job, you will have to pony up. Many companies offer different blends of Flat Black, but I desided to go with Southern polyurethane (SPI), but I havent tryed it yet.

Regards

Sent from my SM-T530NU using Tapatalk
Old 10-17-2018, 01:04 AM

It does not need to be expensive,this has been a favorite of traditional rodders for well over a decade plan on three coats total to keep the sheen. May not be available in California.

Old 10-17-2018, 03:29 AM
Slow but willing learner

Thanked 8,056 Times in 4,123 Posts
I am also very fond of the SPI (southern Polyurathane Inc) Matte Black.

I have not done a whole car with it but certainly would if that was the look I was going for.

It is reasonably priced and shipped free also.

John

Old 10-21-2018, 09:51 PM

Paint the car a color then lay down Matte Black Vinyl in areas like on top of the hood or down the side.

Much easier to maintain and keep uniform.