Bow in center of hood, how to fix? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 02:05 AM
See project in Photo Album

Wiki Edits: 0

Bow in center of hood, how to fix?

I am restoring my 71 Chevy C-10 pickup. I bought a 67 front clip for the sloped hood and more simple grill. I brought the stock hood inside to begin cleaning it up today after deciding the cowl hood I also have just doesn't look right. Anyway I had forgotten that the stock hood has a bow right in the center. The rib in the center of the hood is down about 3/8", but I cannot see a visible crease there. I am wondering how to go about bringing this low area back up. I have very little experience with dent removal but I do have a budget hammer and dolly setup. I was thinking of using the edge of an approximate 3' board somehow to push on it, but I truly just don't know how to proceed. Please let me know if you have any suggestions!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	front clip 016.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	113.1 KB
ID:	18710   Click image for larger version

Name:	front clip 018.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	18711  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2007, 02:12 AM

Last journal entry: rear end detail

Hi just try pushing it up some . You can use the dolly and hammer to relieve any oil can in the metal . Start by working the outer edge of low area and come in toward center. Just lightly tapping on metal skin. That hood is going to need some long arms though.

a product of dropping the hood closed
Old 02-21-2007, 03:40 PM