Brake proportioning valve ? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2019, 09:23 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Brake proportioning valve ?

I have a MII front end and a 8.8 Ford with disk brakes in the rear on my 53 and I'm starting to wonder if my rear brakes are not grabbing like they should. I have a 1988 F-150 master cyl and booster and a willwood adjustable proportioning valve. If I open the valve up all the way I still can not get the back brakes to lock up. I know the fronts are supposed to lock up first, I'm just trying to establish a base line to adjust from. Because the master cyl is designed for rear drums, would that make any difference ?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2019, 11:28 AM
Capt Mike

53 3100

I have to Laugh at myself. I just re-red the Wilwood instructions as it's time for me to adjust my p valve.

When We first installed new calipers ETC, we couldn't get the P valve adjusted...

Then We read the instructions,,, not what I first though when We installed new disc brakes and this P valve.

This part is what got me...

Hope this helps..

The knob rotated all the way out (counter-clockwise) will provide a maximum pressure REDUCTION

Rotating the knob in (clockwise) will incrementally increase line pressure, up to full pressure.

The adjusting knob is marked with an arrow indicating the direction required to decrease line pressure to the calipers.

The knob rotated all the way out (counter-clockwise) will provide a maximum pressure reduction of 57%.
Old 08-04-2019, 01:43 PM
NEVER SATISFIED !!

Ditto. Turn the knob IN to get more pressure.

454 RATTLER

Old 08-04-2019, 06:18 PM