Deck Lid Struts - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2020, 03:09 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Deck Lid Struts

I am trying to determine what pound rating I need for the struts to lift the deck lid of my 1926 T coupe. I have pretty well figured out the mounting points necessary for the struts I have spec'ed from McMaster. I used a weight scale to lift the hood at the strut lift point. It takes 15# to lift at that point. It seems to me that the strut, pushing at that angle will require more than 15# to lift the lid. I have zero experience with struts, so I could easily be wrong here. I intend to install one strut on each side. I don't want the lid to slam open or bend when trying to close. The spec'ed strut comes in 15# through 120# in about 10# increments. I'm thinking 2-15#'s or 2-20#'s. What do you think? Any body have any experience with these struts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0602.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	451415  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2020, 04:50 PM

I used to have them on one of my '32 roadster and could tell the outside temp the way they opened the trunk. On a cold day the trunk would just come up several inches but hot days look out for an uppercut! Might want to look at the units that open the back of a camper shell, they are spring and not gas operated. Cheaper too.
The Following User Says Thank You to 39 master For This Useful Post:
jaw22w (02-01-2020)
Old 01-30-2020, 11:45 AM