detail guns - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2008, 12:14 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Small projects

I'm new to body work. I figure it might be a good idea to start with a small project so I plan on painting my bikes tank and fenders first. I figure I need a detail gun. I have a 6gal. pancake compressor that puts out 2.6 SCFM @90PSI (I assume that's not enough) but have access to an old 20gal 8.8 SCFM @40PSI compressor. What should I be looking for in a compressor, filter and regulator for this purpose. I'm thinking of buying the Sharpe Finex FX1000. I'm I heading in the right direction?

Advertisement

Last edited by clavius; 09-10-2008 at 06:42 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-06-2008, 06:54 AM

Last journal entry: 50 Ply wagon

To do a paint job correctly and have enough air, you should use no less then a single stage 60 gal tank with a 6-7hp motor. You may get away with the 20 gal tank but I guarantee that it will be running all the time trying to keep up. You should have a good filter like a Sharpe where the connection will be to the hose. That way it will be filtered before it gets to the gun. DO NOT use any inline oilers in the air lines as it will introduce droplets of oil to the air hose and in turn to the paint. I have a regulator at the connection and on my guns as well. You need to know what pressure is coming out of the gun and with a regulator right there you can know for sure. Having one only at the wall connection is deceiving as for every foot of hose length you lose 2 lbs of pressure. So if you need 45 lbs of pressure to shoot a certain paint and you have 50 ft of hose, you will lose 10 lbs of pressure at the gun.