Dumb question regarding aftermarket speedometer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2018, 09:15 PM
47 Ford Coupe Delux's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Dumb question regarding aftermarket speedometer

Hi all, so I got a new engine in my car and my original 1947 speedometer that's currently in the car doesn't work (wasn't working when I bought the car). The speedometer cable is missing and I would assume that the original speedometer cable wouldn't even be compatible with a TH350 transmission. So currently I'm using a speedometer app on my phone to keep track of the miles on the new motor. So, my question is: If I buy an aftermarket speedometer would I be able to input the current odometer miles on the new unit? I'm thinking of going with a GPS sending unit for simplicity sake. Thanks for any suggestions.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2018, 09:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12,827
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 264
Thanked 1,293 Times in 1,020 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47 Ford Coupe Delux View Post
Hi all, so I got a new engine in my car and my original 1947 speedometer that's currently in the car doesn't work (wasn't working when I bought the car). The speedometer cable is missing and I would assume that the original speedometer cable wouldn't even be compatible with a TH350 transmission. So currently I'm using a speedometer app on my phone to keep track of the miles on the new motor. So, my question is: If I buy an aftermarket speedometer would I be able to input the current odometer miles on the new unit? I'm thinking of going with a GPS sending unit for simplicity sake. Thanks for any suggestions.
There used to be speedometer shops in most larger towns, but they may have gone with the dodo bird in this age of electronics, but if one exists somewhere near you they can test and rebuild your stock speedo and certainly fabricate a cable between your Th350 and Ford dash panel.

For a quick commercial source is Speedway Motors who still do a lot of old time hotrod conversion parts. Their online store will drive you nuts, the search engine sucks big time so if you can't find it doesn't mean they don't have it, call them and while on the phone get them to send you all their catalogs, there's different stuff in each with little reason in many cases as to why.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to BogiesAnnex1 For This Useful Post:
47 Ford Coupe Delux (11-27-2018)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:27 PM
47 Ford Coupe Delux's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogiesAnnex1 View Post
There used to be speedometer shops in most larger towns, but they may have gone with the dodo bird in this age of electronics, but if one exists somewhere near you they can test and rebuild your stock speedo and certainly fabricate a cable between your Th350 and Ford dash panel.

For a quick commercial source is Speedway Motors who still do a lot of old time hotrod conversion parts. Their online store will drive you nuts, the search engine sucks big time so if you can't find it doesn't mean they don't have it, call them and while on the phone get them to send you all their catalogs, there's different stuff in each with little reason in many cases as to why.

Bogie

What about a new speedometer? Can I input the mileage on those so I don't have to start from zero?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2018, 11:27 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,162
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 2,008
Thanked 2,926 Times in 2,181 Posts
I never have experienced any speedo problems so don't really know what to tell you, other than you might call one of the specialty shops and ask what they can to for you......
https://www.instrumentclusterstore.c...YaAlViEALw_wcB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to techinspector1 For This Useful Post:
47 Ford Coupe Delux (11-27-2018)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2018, 03:34 PM
chasracer's Avatar
True Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 702
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 65
Thanked 162 Times in 143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47 Ford Coupe Delux View Post
What about a new speedometer? Can I input the mileage on those so I don't have to start from zero?

Yes and no.


If you fix up a short drive for the new speedo - assuming it's mechanical then yes you can spin it with an electric drill - just don't be surprised at how long it takes.


If you are going with an electronic unit then you need to ask the manufacturer about it - I sort of doubt it but it might be possible.


BTW - I had a '49 Ford for a few years and if I remember correctly the size of the distributer drive end was the same as the Chevy stuff. If your original speedo is just lacking a drive you might check for a kit to make your own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to chasracer For This Useful Post:
47 Ford Coupe Delux (11-28-2018)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2018, 10:22 PM
47 Ford Coupe Delux's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Wink

I guess not many folks here are using aftermarket speedometers




There are so many aftermarket speedometers online I'm even having a hard time choosing one. I guess my dilemma is whether to get a GPS sending unit or the electronic sending unit which is cheaper but I have no idea what it takes to install. I do know the GPS is a breeze to install but i't much more expensive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 05:24 AM
S10Fan's Avatar
Garage Filler
 

Last journal entry: I need more time!
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newport News Virginia
Age: 62
Posts: 322
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
This company,

https://transmissioncenter.net/home/

helped me with the speedometer in my 50 Chevy Styleline. One of their cables connected to my TH350 along with the proper gear (they will help you with selection) and my speedometer is within 2 mph of being accurate.

I use one of these in my Model A pickup,

https://www.ebay.com/sch/sis.html?_n...53.m2749.l2658
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:43 AM
75gmck25's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Engine replacement
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,492
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 224 Times in 204 Posts
I don't know if it applies to your vehicle, but in most states when you replace a speedometer there is certification paperwork you fill out that shows the reading on the old speedometer, and the starting mileage of the new speedometer. Filing that paperwork removes the possibility of being fined for selling a vehicle with an altered speedometer.

In some states the speedometer certification is not required if the vehicle is a minimum number of years old, so that's why it might not apply to a classic/antique vehicle.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 06:31 PM
47 Ford Coupe Delux's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by S10Fan View Post
This company,

https://transmissioncenter.net/home/

helped me with the speedometer in my 50 Chevy Styleline. One of their cables connected to my TH350 along with the proper gear (they will help you with selection) and my speedometer is within 2 mph of being accurate.

I use one of these in my Model A pickup,

https://www.ebay.com/sch/sis.html?_n...53.m2749.l2658

Those GPS ones seem very cheap. Are they pretty reliable and do they have odometer? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 06:33 PM
47 Ford Coupe Delux's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75gmck25 View Post
I don't know if it applies to your vehicle, but in most states when you replace a speedometer there is certification paperwork you fill out that shows the reading on the old speedometer, and the starting mileage of the new speedometer. Filing that paperwork removes the possibility of being fined for selling a vehicle with an altered speedometer.

In some states the speedometer certification is not required if the vehicle is a minimum number of years old, so that's why it might not apply to a classic/antique vehicle.

Bruce

Thanks, but I don't think this would apply to a 71 year old car.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 07:42 PM
S10Fan's Avatar
Garage Filler
 

Last journal entry: I need more time!
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newport News Virginia
Age: 62
Posts: 322
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47 Ford Coupe Delux View Post
Those GPS ones seem very cheap. Are they pretty reliable and do they have odometer? Thanks
No odometer. Using a regular GPS, mine was within a couple miles an hour. There's also a phone app "Speedview" that seems pretty accurate.

I installed an hour meter on my Model A to keep up with usage for routine maintenance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 232
Thanked 491 Times in 396 Posts
I have tossed a Garmen Nuvi on the floor which turns on with the key then used a phone app for the speed. Garmen keeps mileage and thats about all I used it for. Had one when driving OTR I had 355,000 or something before the thing fried.

They don't work in tunnels or such. But they are more accurate then most old mechanical speedometers.

I have always checked the exceeds mechanical limits box mileage wise to be safe. Unless your the original owner someone could have swapped out that cluster without you knowing.



I like using a phone app because it shows you things like traffic, curves, your speed, and in some cases posted speed.

Like I can be going down a country road in the middle of nowhere and see I have a red spot(slow traffic) up ahead where other people have slowed down. That tells me there is a stop sign miles before I see a stop ahead sign.

Same thing with curves. If your going down a back road a bit faster then you should and suddenly have a curve you did not expect things can get bad. But by seeing how tight that curve is you can adjust for it ahead of time.

Big thing is warnings. Some apps like waze allow you to set limits. Like if I go 5 above a ring around my speed goes red. Going 10 above the posted speed goes large kind of yelling at me before I get pulled over.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2018, 08:36 PM
36 sedan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 1,090
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 641
Thanked 315 Times in 251 Posts
https://www.intellitronix.com

yes, you can program the miles in these.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 electronic speedometer conversion to mechanical speedometer [email protected] Transmission - Rearend 9 07-12-2012 12:30 AM
Aftermarket Speedometer! PeterFred General Rodding Tech 6 11-17-2010 01:36 PM
dumb dumb wheel question...5 lug steel rim? MUSTISIXSTANG Suspension - Brakes - Steering 4 06-07-2010 08:27 AM
Aftermarket Speedometer odieboy General Rodding Tech 1 11-30-2009 04:18 PM
Aftermarket Speedometer WakBordr7387 General Rodding Tech 9 07-12-2005 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.