Eliminating play on reversed corvair steering box - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2016, 12:09 PM

Last journal entry: 27 Ford T Bucket with SBC 327
Wiki Edits: 0

Eliminating play on reversed corvair steering box

I can't remember where I saw it on here but there's a youtube video???maybe that walks a newbie / no-nothing through the process of adjusting the play out of a reversed corvair steering box. It's on a Model T roadster with dragster to street issue, some of which you guys have helped me solve. Once I get the front end jacked up, how do you adjust out the 5" of play? Get a new one? Keep in mind I'm new at this so please use language you would for your 8 year old......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	steering box closeup.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	1.39 MB
ID:	291426  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2016, 02:41 PM

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Wiki Edits: 21

Not a whole lot to wear out in those great little boxes so not a lot of adjustment provided. 99.999% of the time you can tighten them up perfectly by adjusting the bolt/nut in the middle of the big pot metal plate on the inside of the gear. It should be tight enough that you feel a slight drag on the input steering shaft when the gear is in the middle of its travel. the factory cut the gears so you can feel that drag in the middle.
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post:
jdr5152 (04-02-2016)
Old 04-02-2016, 03:09 PM

need a little direction