emissions controls? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2004, 08:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question emissions controls?

Quote:
Do I need Emissions Controls on an old Truck?
I'm new to engine build up and i have me a 350, and i have this rat nest of old cracked hoses all over the place, i read up and found out that most of them when to emissions controls, do i need all that for an 82 chevy truck?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2004, 02:55 PM

emissions controls

A lot of that depends on where you live and whether your state requires inspection of all those goodies each year. In some states, they have safety inspection only and you can tinker with your engine all you want. About the only national law is concerning catalytic converters. Removal of them from vehicles built after around 75 or 76 is a federal felony, subject to Big $$$$$$$$$ fines.

IF you want to find out for sure, check with your local inspection station if you have them.
Most smog stuff used prior to the inseption of Fuel Injection and computer programmed engines, can be deleted with no ill effects to the operation of the engine, as a large part of them only effect the engine during warm up.
As for the cats, you can legally replace your stock one with aftermarkets and duals etc. The main frame of the law is that there are cats on your vehicle.
Old 12-06-2004, 03:13 PM