Insane idea for a frame? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2020, 03:09 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Insane idea for a frame?

Hello people,

I'm a very beginner and forgive my dumb question.

I'm starting to get some info about to build a car looking like a Indy racing car from the 60's. I was wondering if I can use a small pickup truck frame and modified it. How bad is that? Thank you!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-04-2020, 03:46 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: 77 Ford
Wiki Edits: 5

Welcome.....The Indy cars are quite narrow. I think by the time you modified that truck frame. it would be easier to build one from scratch.
The Following User Says Thank You to poncho62 For This Useful Post:
Robbyvenetian (01-04-2020)
Old 01-04-2020, 04:17 PM
More for Less Racer

Thanked 3,744 Times in 3,106 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62 View Post
Welcome.....The Indy cars are quite narrow. I think by the time you modified that truck frame. it would be easier to build one from scratch.
I agree...and any stock truck front suspension is going to have a tough time getting lowered enough and still have even poor to fair suspension and steering geometry....on top of the fact the truck suspension looks like A Z Z out in the open. Ugly when exposed.
The Following User Says Thank You to ericnova72 For This Useful Post:

Old 01-04-2020, 06:07 PM

Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions
Wiki Edits: 27

Mazda pickup