Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
hotrodders.com: Project Journals: belchfire's Journal
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

View belchfire's profile Entries: 6
Views: 1170
view from the beginning || now viewing most recent entries

Pages (2): [1] 2

08-21-2016 10:41 AM Start over
It's been awhile since my last entry. My wife and I had a discussion about me working solidly on this project for the last two years and she still has a kitchen from the '70's. Needless to say, I've been putting in a new kitchen for the last 6 months. Meanwhile, when I do get a break, I've been mostly doing bodywork on the cab. I had the bright idea of mounting the box on the chassis, rolling it outside, and covering it with a blue tarp so that I'd have more room in the shop and so that it wouldn't get damaged. Not a good idea. The tarp trapped moisture and the steel is rusty, aluminum has bloomed and, worst of all, the paint has bubbled. Now I have to disassemble everything and clean it up. I've also got to sand the paint down to zero and start all over again.
One small victory I can claim is a major safety improvement. Back in the old days manufacturers didn't want to install seat belts as that would imply that their vehicles were unsafe. I remember riding in a '64 galaxy and the mom driving it wanted to demonstrate how well they worked. She slammed on the brakes. I hadn't buckled mine completely and crashed into the seat back proving a point, I guess. Been a big fan ever since. With all of the hard, sharp metal inside proper restraint was determined necessary. I rolled and hammered a piece of 3/16" plate (a bit overkill) to match the cab contour then welded it to the rear window frame and the door opening. This will be the main anchoring point for the shoulder belt.

(click photo to enlarge)

(click photo to enlarge)

(click photo to enlarge)
  [Entry #6]