Mallory ignition coil test - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2019, 09:39 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Mallory ignition coil test

I posted another topic in this forum labeled "fuel system questions" since my 31 ford model a wasn't firing (good voltage from battery, fuel going into carb, just not firing). After doing some more troubleshooting, I believe the problem i'm having is ignition related.

I have a mallory promaster coil 29440, with a MSD 8360 distributor.

For the coil, the specs say:
primary: 0.6ohms
seconday: 11.3kohms

The readings I just took show:
primary: 1.5ohms
secondary: 12.75kohms

Does the higher resistance on both primary and secondary indicate a major problem?

Also, what's the role of the ballast resistor? there's one mounted above the ignition coil - i'm still trying to figure out what all the wires go to, but only one side of the resistor is wired to something.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190714_170011.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	445071  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2019, 10:56 PM

Thanked 1,066 Times in 847 Posts
The resistor is a left over from points ignitions. 12 volt point systems have short point life due to arcing. So the system is really a 6 to 9 volt system. I say that around the fact that the key switch wires the coil in two different paths of cranking and another for running.

During cranking the starter is pulling a lot of amps which pull the B+ voltage from 12 to around 10 to 8 volts. At this time the key switch feeds the coil with full B+ voltage.