Newbie paint Q: how smooth does primer need to be? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2018, 07:12 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Newbie paint Q: how smooth does primer need to be?

Hey all, so I'm new to painting car panels, and have a few cars underway that I intend to do with a buddy who has extensive(decades)experience with spray paint, but none with an actual car. I'm doing most of the prep work, and he'll be shooting, as he's got much better hand control. So my question: how smooth do I need to get the primer before shooting base coat? I have completely straight metal, primer on, and have done numerous passes of primer/wet sand to get any imperfections out. what I want to know is this: how critical is the smoothness of the primer in the end product? there are no chips/dings/etc, but the final pass of primer is still straight out of the gun, so it's rough feeling. do i need to thoroughly block the entire car before base coat, or will 2 coats of base "cover" the natural roughness of the primer? thanks for the help!!-RJ

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2018, 08:31 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Thanked 6,696 Times in 4,306 Posts
It depends on how good a job you want. But the primer is generally smoothed out flat in most any situation where a nice job is the end result wanted.

And in fact, perfect flat IS the super basic goal of those who want a nice job. Think about it, you are in complete control, you have the afternoon, the music playing in the shop/garage, a cold drink, and you make it perfectly flat because it's easy, just get it done and that makes the whole job much better.