No gasoline at the carb - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No gasoline at the carb

I have replaced fuel tank, sending unit, fuel line, return fuel line, all new rubber fuel lines, fuel pump, fuel filter and new carb. I have cranked the motor for over 1 minute and still no gas. do I need to keep turning the motor over or something else?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:25 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: 77 Ford
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18,161
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 69
Thanked 750 Times in 567 Posts
I would suspect the pump is bad....or you have a leak and its just sucking air.

What car, engine etc?
__________________
I wonder if common sense will ever make a comeback?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to poncho62 For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-01-2018)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gatoraid

350 chevy 4bbl 1984 K5 blazer. everything is new, just replaced and installed today. there is gas in the tank. anything need to be primed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 04:16 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: 77 Ford
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18,161
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 69
Thanked 750 Times in 567 Posts
What I would do is, take the connection from the tank at the input of the pump off. Take a hose the right size and put it from there into a 1 gallon gas can with some gas in it. Crank it over. If it draws gas from there, the problem is from the pump back. If not, the pump is likely no good. It is an engine mounted pump, right?
__________________
I wonder if common sense will ever make a comeback?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to poncho62 For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-01-2018)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 04:29 PM
39 master's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 1,231
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 278 Times in 237 Posts
Engine mounted fuel pump...was the pushrod put back in? Was the pushrod holding bolt loosened?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 39 master For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-01-2018)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2018, 07:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the info. I'll try the gas can and hose trick.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 3,601
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 268
Thanked 498 Times in 422 Posts
Are you using a mechanical pump on the side of the block and also when you installed a new sending unit did it have an electric fuel pump on the sending unit? In my experience you can't run a mechanical fuel pump and have it pull fuel through an electric fuel pump on the fuel tank and it not be hooked up and if you were to have it hooked up depending on the fuel pressure you would have to have a regulator to keep the pressure correct.

On all my s10 v8 swaps I had to take out the in tank pump so my mechanical pump would be able to pull fuel. The first time I did this many years ago I had everything hooked up and turned and turned over and did not get any fuel. I had to have the tank dropped and the electric fuel pump removed then problem solved. Just something to check.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to eric32 For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-02-2018)
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:55 AM
55 Tony's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Cocke County, TN
Posts: 1,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 134
Thanked 182 Times in 162 Posts
In addition, do your battery a favor and pour a little gas down the carb before the next try. Might take a couple starts and stalls till it's pumping fuel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 55 Tony For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-02-2018), joe_padavano (12-02-2018)
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:59 AM
Old(s) Fart
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,369
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 119
Thanked 619 Times in 536 Posts
You completely replaced everything in the fuel system. It takes time for the pump to suck fuel from the tank and fill the float bowl in the carb. The easy thing to do is to fill the carb through the bowl vents. I use a turkey baster or similar tool.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joe_padavano For This Useful Post:
adantessr (12-17-2018), gatoraid (12-02-2018)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2018, 09:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 296
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
Is this a roller cam motor, I hope?

If not, you likely have bigger problems by now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to meborder For This Useful Post:
adantessr (12-17-2018), gatoraid (12-02-2018), techinspector1 (12-03-2018)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2018, 04:57 PM
potvinguy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: msp
Posts: 77
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
The tank has a vent, I assume?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to potvinguy For This Useful Post:
gatoraid (12-06-2018)

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SBC 5.7l 350 TBI 1987 K5 No CEL, no idle, no power/seems to misfire SBC350 TBI 87' Modern Electronic Engines 9 06-27-2018 12:18 PM
"No shirt, No shoes, No service" 46stude Hotrodders' Lounge 8 11-30-2004 06:32 PM
gasoline in oil pan ffcagle34 Engine 3 02-20-2003 11:53 AM
Converter, diesel vs gasoline Norwegian Transmission - Rearend 1 10-29-2002 01:24 AM
a question about gasoline and 70's cars ruger Hotrodders' Lounge 5 09-24-2002 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.