plastic box what is it? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 11:35 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
plastic box what is it?

On my 'Portaband Saw is this plastic box -wrapped in a little brown- stiff hard cover. The hot wires come in one end and ==out the top end as you can see. I wish to eliminate this plastic box..to mount a switch in its ---spot.Not sure what it is. might not work and ruin whats left of my old Portaband anY help appreciated bob s
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PORTABAND SWITCH 001.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	378857   Click image for larger version

Name:	PORTABAND SWITCH 003.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	378865  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 12:21 PM
36 sedan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 1,089
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 641
Thanked 315 Times in 251 Posts
That is the switch, it is activated by the trigger. That particular switch is no longer available, but you may be able to get something close from the link below. Use the measurements they provide at bottom of page to determine which one is the best replacement fit.
POWER TOOL SWITCH 8307K1 with lock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 12:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 596
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 79 Times in 73 Posts
Like was said the brown paper is insulation for the switch [plastic box] this switch controls both the power AND the neutral [safety thing] you COULD just pair the neutrals[white wires & switch the power [colored leads]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 02:24 PM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36 sedan View Post
That is the switch, it is activated by the trigger. That particular switch is no longer available, but you may be able to get something close from the link below. Use the measurements they provide at bottom of page to determine which one is the best replacement fit.
POWER TOOL SWITCH 8307K1 with lock
Wow!! I knew if i kept at it- i would come across some options.I am going to measure and order that switch Monday morning 36 sedan- and thank you . If it turns out wrong i will mount a switch ,haven't decided the best place for this to be attached, so i could hit a toggle switch quickly, anyone ever do this ??????


ps This switch you refer me too looks like its a twin brother to my bad one.
thank you both very much bob s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:59 PM
36 sedan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 1,089
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 641
Thanked 315 Times in 251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2old2fast View Post
Like was said the brown paper is insulation for the switch [plastic box] this switch controls both the power AND the neutral [safety thing] you COULD just pair the neutrals[white wires & switch the power [colored leads]
Power tools of this nature almost always switch both power and neutral, as it is very unlikely both set of contacts weld themselves keeping the tool on (safety).
If you need to use an alternate switch type (toggle or other), I would recommend you continue with the dual contact set (D.P.S.T.) type switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2017, 05:11 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: GTO Reproduction Hood
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,713
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 548
Thanked 838 Times in 716 Posts
I would lie to see what is inside of the brown wrapper. Could it have a small capacitor?
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 07:42 AM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 66
Posts: 2,530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 242 Times in 223 Posts
Or a variable speed resistor...

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 07:58 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LATECH View Post
I would lie to see what is inside of the brown wrapper. Could it have a small capacitor?

just little plastic box which i think i have found A replacement switchon the link above looks like mine enough to buy it for 11.00 try it and see. Toggle switches are going to be hard to mount- and hang on to the saw properly .As i appears. bob s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 08:01 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by S10xGN View Post
Or a variable speed resistor...

Russ

Variable resistor would be for "slower speeds: when its cutting steel--wouldn't it this Portaband runs one speed- whenever its got power shoved to it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 08:02 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LATECH View Post
I would lie to see what is inside of the brown wrapper. Could it have a small capacitor?
When i get it out i'll take it apart ~and see what it is.post it here. bob s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 08:05 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36 sedan View Post
Power tools of this nature almost always switch both power and neutral, as it is very unlikely both set of contacts weld themselves keeping the tool on (safety).
If you need to use an alternate switch type (toggle or other), I would recommend you continue with the dual contact set (D.P.S.T.) type switch.

D.P.S.T. Whats this stand for please 36 sedan. btw Do you have any extra parts for A35 sedan. My friend bounced his of a guard rail this summer early Has had it back on the rd for lack of parts. thank you bob s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 09:47 AM
36 sedan's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 1,089
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 641
Thanked 315 Times in 251 Posts
D.P.S.T. = Double, Pole, Single, Throw. Meaning the switch has 2 sets of contacts with one position ON/OFF.
D.P.D.T. = Double, Pole, Double, Throw. Meaning the switch has 2 sets of contacts with two positions ON/OFF, OFF/ON.

Sorry, currently I have very few extra parts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 36 sedan For This Useful Post:
bsa_bob2 (09-24-2017)
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2017, 11:07 AM
bsa_bob2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lower mich/
Posts: 1,615
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 319
Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_bob2 View Post
D.P.S.T. Whats this stand for please 36 sedan. btw Do you have any extra parts for a 36 ford sedan. My friend bounced his of a guard rail this summer early Has had it back on the rd for lack of parts. thank you bob s
There i got it right!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How about a $2500 plastic fuse box? MARTINSR Hotrodders' Lounge 12 08-16-2011 11:48 PM
steering gear box 55 chevy(manual box) 55 Bullit Suspension - Brakes - Steering 3 11-21-2010 01:35 PM
Vega Box or Reverse Corvair Box? Ltlgto Suspension - Brakes - Steering 9 04-24-2008 05:02 PM
ford/chevy box new box demetions? 56-Dodge Body - Exterior 2 01-01-2004 09:06 AM
HELP 1959 chevy box swap to newer box style big jer Body - Exterior 1 10-07-2002 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.