push button start - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2006, 08:44 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

push button start

This is my first post and I am a beginning beginner. I want to put a hidden toggle switch in for the ignition for theft protection and a push button for the starter. I have bought good heavy duty toggle and button but I am not sure how to go about this. Any one have any pointers. THANKS

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2006, 09:15 AM

Last journal entry: Engine replacement

I always helps if you tell us the year, model and engine in the vehicle. In some cases its a very easy installation, but with some newer vehicles and anti-theft systems, its a lot harder.

Bruce
Old 11-12-2006, 09:32 AM

opps

It's a 73' chevelle malibu limited edition 350/th350

Old 11-12-2006, 03:01 PM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Wiki Edits: 31

ok, just run a wire from the starter button the S terminal on the solonoid, then run another wire from the fuse box listed ignition on, to your toggle switch and then to the distributor or coil ( depending if you have a GM HEI or not ,if you have points, you need to run that wire into a ballast resistor and then to the coil.
Old 11-12-2006, 03:49 PM

Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator
Wiki Edits: 12

Doc here,

To correctly install a push button starter, Bring a wire 10 Gauge wire from the Battery post on the starter Via a fuse link to the area you want to install the pushbutton.