Hot Rod Forum banner

Question on Mig Welding - HOW to

9K views 43 replies 17 participants last post by  benefact 
#1 ·
I just got my new HTP 160 MiG on Thursday. I have NO welding experience whatsoever and am completely learning from scratch.

1. Would it be better to learn on heavier metal (say 1/8") and then transition to sheet metal or other way around?

2. I ran a couple of beads on some angle (3/16"). I got the welder "tuned" nicely when pushing the gun, but with the same settings, pulling the gun resulted in the Mig going out of "tune". When pulling the gun, do I need to increase or decrease the wire feed? No matter what I did, I could not get the nice bzzzzzzzzz sound when pulling.

3. How do you see the seam when welding? I've got a self darkening helmet so I can see where I start, but once I get going, all I can see is the arc itself and I have to go along using the "force" :D. Would additional backlighting on the part help?

I'm going to be signing up for a welding class at the local tech school, but classes don't start until October... thanks for the help!

#2 ·
i know where you're coming from. i had no welding experience before i bought my welder. i experimented a little bit just running beads and stuff. what i found when i first started was that a lot of times i didn't have my welder set hot enough. i would weld something and it looked like it was welded but with a bit of prying it would come apart. i haven't really got into much more than 1/8" - 3/16". whenever i do those i get the welder set nice and hot. if i burn thru then i know it's too hot. if you're getting a lot of sputtering it could be that your wire feed isn't fast enough. you'll figure it out.

i know it's hard sometimes to watch where you're welding. i try not to look at the arc but at the weld pool. it's easier to see where you're going if you push rather than pull because the gun tip isn't in the way then. you'll just have to keep plugging along. you'll get it eventually.