quick fuel carb tuning - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2019, 09:29 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

quick fuel carb tuning

I am a bit new to holley carbs but thanks to this forum I am learning a lot about them now. Anyway I am trying to get my new engine dialed in , so I will throw the spec's at you.

gm 350 with vortec heads , 9to1 compression
215.int / 223. exh. @ .050 , .473 lift int. and exh., 108 lobe sep. roller cam.
Hei. ignition , gm dual plane intake.

1977 blazer 4x4 ,(4500lbs or so), auto trans., 4.56 gears with 38 inch tire's so around 3.73 ratio.

HEI. , changed one spring to a light one and changed the vacuum advance can to a 10 degree max , hooked to full manifold vacuum. I am at 5,500 feet elevation and this engine only pulls 9.5 to 10 inches of vacuum at idle.

HEI timing with no vacuum adv. hooked up.
11 degree's at 780 rpm
29 degree's at 2,000 rpm
32 degree's at 3,000 rpm
35 degree's at 3,500 and up , seems to stop there.

HEI with vacuum hooked to full vacuum.
17 degree's at 780 rpm
34 degree's at 2,000 rpm
36 degree's at 2,500 rpm
37 degree's at 3,000 rpm

Quick fuel OR-600cfm-VS carb. , (basically an off road set up slayer) , when I took it apart the main body had 600 SL inside. So I paid 550 dollar's for a cross over vent tube and spring loaded needles, (bone head move).

Out of box
68 primary jets 74 secondary jets, (has a plate with jets, no meter block)
73/33 idle air bleed 31/31 high speed air bleed
Pink pump cam 31 primary nozzle 6.5 power valve
The IFR's have no markings so no idea what they are. Anyway this carb was way rich at everywhere at 5,000 feet so after reading on this forum I took it apart and went for it.

New set up