S10 V8 Motor Mounts - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Daily Grinder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 44
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
S10 V8 Motor Mounts

Needing a little help on what motor mounts to get for the 383 swap into the S10. It's a 93' and has the 2.5 in it. I heard the 2.8 mounts and swap motor mounts will not work with full length Hedman Headers. Does anyone have a clue as to what does work? All I see is the conversion mounts for the 2.8 style stuff and shorty headers.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 12:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary,Alberta,Canada
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
s10 swap

my son was gonna do one of those swaps. he had a book that told all the in's and out's. maybe your library has it, or the parts store.
in my experience it is always best to buy a swap kit with headers etc from the same manufacturer. that way it all fits. usually just as cheap as parting it all seperately, but i think the book was good at saying what parts to use from which odd vehicle. there is also a dedicated site for v8 s10 swaps.
good luck and don't forget to install a holy crap handle for the passenger.
keep us posted
dsraven
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 12:20 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 75
Posts: 2,262
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Hi
Check the link. Scroll down to #17
Rich
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f10/35...itting-412959/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 07:42 PM
Daily Grinder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 44
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the link. I found that the clam shell style mounts work so i ordered some and got some poly inserts. I also got the Trans Dapt kit for the frame as some guys fromn the S10 forum recommended that. I should have lots of room because I got the forward mounted corvette radiator with dual SPAL fans with the controller. I need to look into that trans crossmember for the dual exhaust set up for the long tube hedmans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 07:44 PM
Daily Grinder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 44
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsraven
my son was gonna do one of those swaps. he had a book that told all the in's and out's. maybe your library has it, or the parts store.
in my experience it is always best to buy a swap kit with headers etc from the same manufacturer. that way it all fits. usually just as cheap as parting it all seperately, but i think the book was good at saying what parts to use from which odd vehicle. there is also a dedicated site for v8 s10 swaps.
good luck and don't forget to install a holy crap handle for the passenger.
keep us posted
dsraven
I believe they have them books on the site...jagsthatrun? They are dedicated to S10-S15 truck and blazer swaps. I just dumped over 5 G's on the motor...so i believe that handle will be used quite frequently!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 08:09 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Age: 77
Posts: 16,947
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 1,915
Thanked 2,813 Times in 2,107 Posts
As I have said on here before, let NOTHING get in the way of fitting long-tube headers to your motor. Whatever is in the way, cut it out with a torch, Sawzall, nibbler or hammer and chisel, then rebuild the component after the headers are in place.

Thanks for the link Richard. One fellow on there said his long-tubes had one primary tube that was rubbing on the upper control arm and that he was changing to shortys. This guy has lost his mind. He just needs to clearance the arm for the tube. This ain't rocket surgery. Shorties are only slightly better than cast iron log manifolds.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2011, 08:14 PM
Daily Grinder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 44
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree tech...what ever needs clearancing...trust me...I got my bfh ready.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: greeley,co
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ive got a v8 s10 blazer and yes if u have it in the forward position u will have plenty of room all around the dist. have to run a short water pump ive got the short headers just dont get the two piece ones long tube they shoot out into the wheel wells and u will have tire rubbing any questions let me know or the s10 forum also if u can get people to reply thats my trouble on there if ur not there every day chatting every day they tend not to respond
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:12 PM
Daily Grinder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 44
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have gotta serpentine setup I'm gonna run with a short pump and a Mercruiser pulley. I am a member of the V8S10.org site and those guys tend to answer quite frequently...smaller group but the guys are knowledgable there and no BS to deal with ...thanks man and i figure I'll be shooting some PM's your way sometime!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2011, 03:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La
Age: 33
Posts: 150
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I fabbed motor mounts myself. Comes out that the motor mounts need to be about three inches back on the motor from stock. I'll try to take pictures soon.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor mounts ziggy57 Engine 2 09-20-2009 02:02 PM
MOTOR MOUNTS (Engine Mounts) PackMule General Rodding Tech 2 08-28-2009 10:52 AM
Motor mounts sanman Engine 1 01-15-2008 07:07 AM
motor mounts el Engine 3 12-24-2003 10:20 AM
Need Help. Motor mounts, SBC Ted655 Engine 6 09-21-2002 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.