sbc 355 big mutha thumpr cam no idle barely any vacuum new rebuild - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2016, 11:40 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

sbc 355 big mutha thumpr cam no idle barely any vacuum new rebuild

ok so i have a sbc350 over 350 out of a 72 stingray. just had it rebuilt with 190cc/64cc aluminum heads with maximum valve lift of 0.600 , big mutha thumpr cam, comp cams 1.6 magnum roller rockers, high energy pushrods, with a weiand dual pane action plus intaken and a 600 cfm freshly rebuilt carb with a 6.5 powervalve.
im no mechanic but know and understand enough to get by in certain areas but not enough to build an engine so i took it to a shop.after building the engine mechanic cant even get to car to idle, has very little to no vacuum and wont even stay on unless foot on pedal and even then it blows greyish smoke out exaust and reeks of ful. all mechanic can say is the cam is to big and rocker ratio to high but i have found a few sbc 350's and 355's with the same camshaft and roller rockers. anyone that can give any advice or help would be greatly appreciated

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2016, 11:44 AM

sbc 350 over .30
Old 06-11-2016, 12:09 PM

Location: in the land of Trolls at least till the san andreas releases the big one

go thru this gallery.. just to get you to know the inside of your holley circuits..

Holley R1850-3 - Album on Imgur

you could have issues where your engine needs much more fuel thru the idle circuit and idle transition circuit ..